Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Marketplaces Since 2014 Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

Purism review

Maker of Librem laptops and phones; its shop accepts crypto through Coinbase

  • Company named
  • 5+ years operating
No ID mentioned KYC 1 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

6.2/ 10

Fair

Safety

6.5/ 10

Fair

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

Purism review in short

Purism is a marketplace operating since 2014. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.2/10 for privacy (fair) and 6.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: company named and 5+ years operating. No incidents are on record.

Category
Marketplaces
KYC level
1 of 4: No ID mentioned
Grades
Privacy 6.2/10, Safety 6.5/10
Fees
PayPal payments carry a 4.5% fee; most returns carry a 20% restocking fee
Jurisdiction
United States
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "Purism review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/purism

Also available as plain text.

What Purism is

Purism designs and sells Librem laptops, phones, tablets, security keys and a cellular plan, and describes itself as a Social Purpose Corporation founded in 2014. Its ordering documentation lists payment by credit card through Stripe, bank transfer, mailed checks, PayPal and cryptocurrency processed through Coinbase, covering assets such as BTC, BCH, ETH, LTC, USDC and USDT. Returns need an authorisation requested within 14 days and most carry a 20% restocking fee. The documentation does not mention identity verification for purchases; physical orders need a shipping address.

What Purism offers, and what to watch

2 of 12 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Not stated
  • No account needed Not stated
  • No email needed Not stated
  • No phone number Not stated

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Escrow it cannot spend alone Not stated
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
  • 5+ years operating Yes Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does Purism require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

Ordering and policy pages mention no identity verification; crypto payments are processed through Coinbase.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.2
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 62

Safety

6.5
  • Starting points 50
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 65

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Purism’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for Purism. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Purism

All alternatives →

Purism vs ShopstrPurism vs XmrBazaarPurism vs ShopinBitPurism vs Crypto Emporium

Purism: common questions

Does Purism require KYC?

Purism is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Ordering and policy pages mention no identity verification; crypto payments are processed through Coinbase.

Is Purism safe to use?

Purism has a Safety grade of 6.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Purism legit?

Purism is a working marketplace that has operated since 2014. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Purism a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Purism.

What fees does Purism charge?

PayPal payments carry a 4.5% fee; most returns carry a 20% restocking fee. Fees were recorded from Purism's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does Purism have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Purism's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Purism support?

Purism supports BTC, BCH, ETH, LTC, USDC, USDT, and fiat payments in USD.

Can I use Purism over Tor?

Purism does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.