# Purism review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Purism is a marketplace operating since 2014. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.2/10 for privacy (fair) and 6.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: company named and 5+ years operating. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Purism review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/purism

## Key facts
- **Category:** Marketplaces
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.2/10, Safety 6.5/10
- **Fees:** PayPal payments carry a 4.5% fee; most returns carry a 20% restocking fee
- **Jurisdiction:** United States
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://puri.sm

## What it is
Purism designs and sells Librem laptops, phones, tablets, security keys and a cellular plan, and describes itself as a Social Purpose Corporation founded in 2014. Its ordering documentation lists payment by credit card through Stripe, bank transfer, mailed checks, PayPal and cryptocurrency processed through Coinbase, covering assets such as BTC, BCH, ETH, LTC, USDC and USDT. Returns need an authorisation requested within 14 days and most carry a 20% restocking fee. The documentation does not mention identity verification for purchases; physical orders need a shipping address.

## What the terms say about ID
Ordering and policy pages mention no identity verification; crypto payments are processed through Coinbase.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: not stated; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Escrow it cannot spend alone: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Purism require KYC?
Purism is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Ordering and policy pages mention no identity verification; crypto payments are processed through Coinbase.

### Is Purism safe to use?
Purism has a Safety grade of 6.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Purism legit?
Purism is a working marketplace that has operated since 2014. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Purism a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Purism.

### What fees does Purism charge?
PayPal payments carry a 4.5% fee; most returns carry a 20% restocking fee. Fees were recorded from Purism's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does Purism have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Purism's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Purism support?
Purism supports BTC, BCH, ETH, LTC, USDC, USDT, and fiat payments in USD.

### Can I use Purism over Tor?
Purism does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://puri.sm
- https://puri.sm/about/
- https://docs.puri.sm/about/order.html
- https://docs.puri.sm/about/policy.html

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
