Proton's AI assistant with zero-access encrypted chat history and guest access
Private AI Reviewed 22 Oct 2026
Maple AI review
AI assistant running open models in encrypted enclaves, with open-source client
- Open source
- Company named
- Email required
Privacy
6.4/ 10
Fair
Safety
6.3/ 10
Fair
Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic
Maple AI review in short
Maple AI is an AI service. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.4/10 for privacy (fair) and 6.3/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: open source and company named. To watch: it requires an email address. No incidents are on record.
- Category
- Private AI
- KYC level
- 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- Grades
- Privacy 6.4/10, Safety 6.3/10
- Sign-up
- Email required
- Fees
- Free plan; Pro $20/month; Max $100/month
- Jurisdiction
- United States
- Incidents on record
- 0
- Last reviewed
- 22 Oct 2026
Cite this review
NoKYC Score, "Maple AI review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/maple-ai
Also available as plain text.
What Maple AI is
Maple is an AI chat and research assistant from Maple Privacy Labs Inc. that runs open models inside trusted execution environments and describes conversations as end-to-end encrypted. An account is required to use it, and the terms ask for a valid payment method such as a credit card for paid features. Plans are Free, Pro at $20/month and Max at $100/month, with a team plan at $30 per user per month. The client code is published on GitHub. The terms contain no identity-verification clause and require most disputes to go to arbitration; payment in cryptocurrency was not confirmed during this review.
What Maple AI offers, and what to watch
2 of 13 privacy and safety features, 1 warning in its terms.
"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.
Identity
- ID never required Not stated
- No account needed No
- No email needed No
- No phone number Not stated
Payment
- Accepts Monero Not stated
- Accepts Lightning Not stated
Access
- Tor onion address Not stated
- Works without JavaScript Not stated
Trust
- Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
- No-logs policy Not stated
- Independent audit Not stated
- Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
- 5+ years operating Not stated
Warnings
- May ask for ID Not in terms
- Email required Yes An email address is required to use the service.
- Phone number required Not in terms
- Closed source Not in terms
- Nobody accountable Not in terms
Does Maple AI require KYC?
- 0 Never
- 1 Not mentioned
- 2 Rare
- 3 On risk flag
- 4 Mandatory
KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.
Terms of use require an account with accurate registration information but contain no identity-document clause.
How the grades add up
Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.
Privacy
6.4- Starting points 50
- KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
- Open source +2
- Total, clamped to 0–100 64
Safety
6.3- Starting points 50
- Open source +8
- Legal entity disclosed +5
- Total, clamped to 0–100 63
Test ledger
Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.
No test transactions published yet
The grades above rest on Maple AI’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.
Incidents on record
No incidents are on record for Maple AI. If you have a documented case, report it.
User reviews
Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.
No reviews yet.
Write a review
Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.
Alternatives to Maple AI
All alternatives →Open protocol for pay-per-request AI inference paid with Cashu ecash and Lightning
AI assistant built into the Brave browser; no account or login for free use
End-to-end encrypted AI assistant from the creator of Signal; account required
Maple AI vs LumoMaple AI vs RoutstrMaple AI vs Brave LeoMaple AI vs Confer
Maple AI: common questions
Does Maple AI require KYC?
Maple AI is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Terms of use require an account with accurate registration information but contain no identity-document clause.
Is Maple AI safe to use?
Maple AI has a Safety grade of 6.3 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.
Is Maple AI legit?
Maple AI is a working AI service. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.3 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.
Is Maple AI a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Maple AI.
Do I need an account or email to use Maple AI?
Email required.
What fees does Maple AI charge?
Free plan; Pro $20/month; Max $100/month. Fees were recorded from Maple AI's own pages and can change; check before you send.
Does Maple AI have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Maple AI's own pages.
Can I use Maple AI over Tor?
Maple AI does not publish an official onion address.
Listing history
- Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.