Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Private AI Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

Lumo review

Proton's AI assistant with zero-access encrypted chat history and guest access

  • No account needed
  • Open source
  • No-logs policy
  • No email needed
  • Company named
  • No phone number
ID never required KYC 0 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

8.4/ 10

Strong

Safety

6.3/ 10

Fair

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

Lumo review in short

Lumo is an AI service. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 8.4/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.3/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Category
Private AI
KYC level
0 of 4: ID never required
Grades
Privacy 8.4/10, Safety 6.3/10
Sign-up
No account needed
Fees
Free tier; Lumo Plus listed from $9.99/month billed yearly
Jurisdiction
Switzerland
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "Lumo review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/lumo

Also available as plain text.

What Lumo is

Lumo is an AI chat assistant from Proton, the Swiss company behind Proton Mail and Proton VPN. The product page says conversations are stored with zero-access encryption so that not even Proton can read them, that chats are not logged and are never used to train models, and that the code is open source. Its FAQ notes that Lumo can be used through Tor with guest access, with no need to log in or create a Proton account. A free plan is available without a credit card, and the paid Lumo Plus plan is listed from $9.99 per month when billed yearly. The service is described as based in Europe and outside US jurisdiction.

What Lumo offers, and what to watch

7 of 13 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Yes The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
  • No-logs policy Yes States that connection or activity logs are not kept.
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does Lumo require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 0: ID never required. The terms rule out identity checks, or the design makes them impossible.

FAQ states guest access is available with "no need to log in or create a Proton account".

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

8.4
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 0: ID never required +20
  • No registration +6
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Open source +2
  • No-logs policy +2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 84

Safety

6.3
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 63

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Lumo’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for Lumo. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Lumo

All alternatives →

Lumo vs Maple AILumo vs RoutstrLumo vs Brave LeoLumo vs Confer

Lumo: common questions

Does Lumo require KYC?

Lumo is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. FAQ states guest access is available with "no need to log in or create a Proton account".

Is Lumo safe to use?

Lumo has a Safety grade of 6.3 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 8.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Lumo legit?

Lumo is a working AI service. It publishes the company that runs it, in Switzerland. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.3 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Lumo a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Lumo.

Do I need an account or email to use Lumo?

No account needed.

What fees does Lumo charge?

Free tier; Lumo Plus listed from $9.99/month billed yearly. Fees were recorded from Lumo's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does Lumo have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Lumo's own pages.

Can I use Lumo over Tor?

Lumo does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.