Proton's AI assistant with zero-access encrypted chat history and guest access
Private AI Reviewed 22 Oct 2026
Confer review
End-to-end encrypted AI assistant from the creator of Signal; account required
- Open source
- Email required
Privacy
6.0/ 10
Fair
Safety
5.8/ 10
Fair
Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic
Confer review in short
Confer is an AI service. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.0/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.8/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: open source. To watch: it requires an email address. No incidents are on record.
- Category
- Private AI
- KYC level
- 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- Grades
- Privacy 6.0/10, Safety 5.8/10
- Sign-up
- Email required
- Fees
- Free to start; no credit card needed
- Incidents on record
- 0
- Last reviewed
- 22 Oct 2026
Cite this review
NoKYC Score, "Confer review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/confer
Also available as plain text.
What Confer is
Confer is an AI assistant whose site says every conversation is end-to-end encrypted, so the operator cannot read chats, train on them or hand them over. It presents itself as coming from the creator of Signal and offers writing help, image understanding, web search with sources, memory, folders and ChatGPT import, running on an open model. The site says the software is open source and links to a public GitHub organisation, with separate pages explaining its encryption and private inference design. Unlike account-free tools, sign-up is required through Google, Apple or an email address. It is free to start with no credit card, and the homepage lists no cryptocurrency payment option.
What Confer offers, and what to watch
1 of 13 privacy and safety features, 1 warning in its terms.
"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.
Identity
- ID never required Not stated
- No account needed No
- No email needed No
- No phone number Not stated
Payment
- Accepts Monero Not stated
- Accepts Lightning Not stated
Access
- Tor onion address Not stated
- Works without JavaScript Not stated
Trust
- Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
- No-logs policy Not stated
- Independent audit Not stated
- Company named Not stated
- 5+ years operating Not stated
Warnings
- May ask for ID Not in terms
- Email required Yes An email address is required to use the service.
- Phone number required Not in terms
- Closed source Not in terms
- Nobody accountable Not in terms
Does Confer require KYC?
- 0 Never
- 1 Not mentioned
- 2 Rare
- 3 On risk flag
- 4 Mandatory
KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.
Sign-up is through Google, Apple or an email address; no identity documents are mentioned.
How the grades add up
Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.
Privacy
6.0- Starting points 50
- KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
- Open source +2
- Requires email -4
- Total, clamped to 0–100 60
Safety
5.8- Starting points 50
- Open source +8
- Total, clamped to 0–100 58
Test ledger
Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.
No test transactions published yet
The grades above rest on Confer’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.
Incidents on record
No incidents are on record for Confer. If you have a documented case, report it.
User reviews
Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.
No reviews yet.
Write a review
Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.
Alternatives to Confer
All alternatives →AI assistant running open models in encrypted enclaves, with open-source client
Open protocol for pay-per-request AI inference paid with Cashu ecash and Lightning
AI assistant built into the Brave browser; no account or login for free use
Confer vs LumoConfer vs Maple AIConfer vs RoutstrConfer vs Brave Leo
Confer: common questions
Does Confer require KYC?
Confer is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Sign-up is through Google, Apple or an email address; no identity documents are mentioned.
Is Confer safe to use?
Confer has a Safety grade of 5.8 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.0 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.
Is Confer legit?
Confer is a working AI service. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.8 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.
Is Confer a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Confer.
Do I need an account or email to use Confer?
Email required.
What fees does Confer charge?
Free to start; no credit card needed. Fees were recorded from Confer's own pages and can change; check before you send.
Does Confer have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Confer's own pages.
Can I use Confer over Tor?
Confer does not publish an official onion address.
Listing history
- Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.