Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Instant Swaps Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

BitcoinBox review

Order-based exchanger whose policy sets risk-score bands and Sumsub KYC on flagged orders

  • May ask for ID
  • Screens deposits
  • Holds your funds
ID on risk flag KYC 3 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

2.0/ 10

Poor

Safety

3.6/ 10

Poor

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

BitcoinBox review in short

BitcoinBox is a swap service. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 2.0/10 for privacy (poor) and 3.6/10 for safety (poor). To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.

Category
Instant Swaps
KYC level
3 of 4: ID on risk flag
Grades
Privacy 2.0/10, Safety 3.6/10
Custody
custodial
Fees
Refund after a failed review may cost up to 5% (max $100 equivalent); fees published on the site
Limits
Reviews can take 24-72 hours and up to 30 working days
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "BitcoinBox review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/bitcoinbox

Also available as plain text.

What BitcoinBox is

BitcoinBox is an exchanger for digital and electronic currencies with an account area and a Telegram, WhatsApp and site chat for support. Its KYC/AML/KYT policy scores incoming crypto with named analytics tools (including AMLBot, Crystal Blockchain, Chainalysis, Scorechain and Elliptic), delays or suspends orders above set risk levels, and on elevated risk can request identity documents, liveness checks and source-of-funds evidence, using Sumsub or other providers; reviews can run up to 30 working days, and a refund can carry up to 5% (capped at $100). The user agreement says the administration may request documents, user data and transaction records cannot be deleted, and orders may be refused without explanation. The supported currencies, whether an exchange can be made without an account and any company details were not shown on the pages read, because most of the site needs JavaScript.

What BitcoinBox offers, and what to watch

0 of 15 privacy and safety features, 5 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required No
  • No account needed Not stated
  • No email needed Not stated
  • No phone number Not stated

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds No
  • Own liquidity Not stated
  • Refund without ID Not stated
  • Open source No
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named No
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Yes The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.
  • Screens deposits Yes Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.
  • Passes orders to partners Not in terms
  • Holds your funds Yes The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Yes The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.
  • Nobody accountable Yes No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

Does BitcoinBox require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 3: ID on risk flag. The terms allow funds to be held and identity demanded after an automated risk flag.

KYC/AML/KYT policy 8.1: "If an elevated transaction risk is identified, the Service has the right to initiate an AML/KYC/KYT verification and request ... an identity document"; Sumsub may be used.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

2.0
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 3: ID on risk flag -14
  • AML screening -7
  • May request ID -7
  • Closed source -2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 20

Safety

3.6
  • Starting points 50
  • AML screening -3
  • May request ID -4
  • Closed source -3
  • Anonymous operator -4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 36

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on BitcoinBox’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for BitcoinBox. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to BitcoinBox

All alternatives →

BitcoinBox vs GhostSwapBitcoinBox vs ChainflipBitcoinBox vs Swap MarketBitcoinBox vs eigenwallet

BitcoinBox: common questions

Does BitcoinBox require KYC?

BitcoinBox is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. KYC/AML/KYT policy 8.1: "If an elevated transaction risk is identified, the Service has the right to initiate an AML/KYC/KYT verification and request ... an identity document"; Sumsub may be used.

Is BitcoinBox safe to use?

BitcoinBox has a Safety grade of 3.6 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 2.0 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is BitcoinBox legit?

BitcoinBox is a working swap service. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 3.6 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is BitcoinBox a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for BitcoinBox. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

What fees does BitcoinBox charge?

Refund after a failed review may cost up to 5% (max $100 equivalent); fees published on the site. Fees were recorded from BitcoinBox's own pages and can change; check before you send.

What are BitcoinBox's limits?

Reviews can take 24-72 hours and up to 30 working days.

Does BitcoinBox have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on BitcoinBox's own pages.

Is BitcoinBox custodial?

Yes. BitcoinBox holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

Can I use BitcoinBox over Tor?

BitcoinBox does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.