Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Wallets Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

Zodl (formerly Zashi) review

Self-custody mobile wallet for shielded Zcash, renamed from Zashi

  • No account needed
  • Never holds your funds
  • Open source
  • No email needed
  • No phone number
ID never required KYC 0 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

7.2/ 10

Strong

Safety

6.4/ 10

Fair

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

Zodl (formerly Zashi) review in short

Zodl (formerly Zashi) is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 7.2/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.4/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Category
Wallets
KYC level
0 of 4: ID never required
Grades
Privacy 7.2/10, Safety 6.4/10
Sign-up
No account needed
Custody
non-custodial
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "Zodl (formerly Zashi) review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/zodl

Also available as plain text.

What Zodl (formerly Zashi) is

Zodl is a self-custody Zcash wallet for iOS and Android that was previously called Zashi; the old zashi.app address now redirects to an announcement of the rename. The announcement says the team that built Zashi left Electric Coin Company in January 2026 and formed a new company, Zcash Open Development Lab. The wallet holds shielded ZEC and has built-in swaps and cross-chain payments powered by NEAR Intents, merchant payments through Flexa and hardware-wallet support through Keystone; these run through those third parties. The Android code is public under the MIT licence. Fees are not stated on the pages reviewed.

What Zodl (formerly Zashi) offers, and what to watch

6 of 13 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Yes The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds Yes The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.
  • Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Not stated
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Screens deposits Not in terms
  • Holds your funds Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does Zodl (formerly Zashi) require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 0: ID never required. The terms rule out identity checks, or the design makes them impossible.

Self-custody wallet ("Only you can see, access, and manage your wallet"); swaps and merchant payments run through third-party services.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

7.2
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 0: ID never required +20
  • Open source +2
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Third-party liquidity -3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 72

Safety

6.4
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Third-party liquidity -6
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 64

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Zodl (formerly Zashi)’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for Zodl (formerly Zashi). If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Zodl (formerly Zashi)

All alternatives →

Zodl (formerly Zashi) vs ElectrumZodl (formerly Zashi) vs PhoenixZodl (formerly Zashi) vs Wasabi WalletZodl (formerly Zashi) vs ZEUS

Zodl (formerly Zashi): common questions

Does Zodl (formerly Zashi) require KYC?

Zodl (formerly Zashi) is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Self-custody wallet ("Only you can see, access, and manage your wallet"); swaps and merchant payments run through third-party services.

Is Zodl (formerly Zashi) safe to use?

Zodl (formerly Zashi) has a Safety grade of 6.4 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Zodl (formerly Zashi) legit?

Zodl (formerly Zashi) is a working wallet. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.4 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Zodl (formerly Zashi) a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Zodl (formerly Zashi).

Do I need an account or email to use Zodl (formerly Zashi)?

No account needed.

Does Zodl (formerly Zashi) have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Zodl (formerly Zashi)'s own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Zodl (formerly Zashi) support?

Zodl (formerly Zashi) supports ZEC.

Can I use Zodl (formerly Zashi) over Tor?

Zodl (formerly Zashi) does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.