# Zodl (formerly Zashi) review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Zodl (formerly Zashi) is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 7.2/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.4/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Zodl (formerly Zashi) review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/zodl

## Key facts
- **Category:** Wallets
- **KYC level:** 0 of 4: ID never required
- **Grades:** Privacy 7.2/10, Safety 6.4/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://zodl.com

## What it is
Zodl is a self-custody Zcash wallet for iOS and Android that was previously called Zashi; the old zashi.app address now redirects to an announcement of the rename. The announcement says the team that built Zashi left Electric Coin Company in January 2026 and formed a new company, Zcash Open Development Lab. The wallet holds shielded ZEC and has built-in swaps and cross-chain payments powered by NEAR Intents, merchant payments through Flexa and hardware-wallet support through Keystone; these run through those third parties. The Android code is public under the MIT licence. Fees are not stated on the pages reviewed.

## What the terms say about ID
Self-custody wallet ("Only you can see, access, and manage your wallet"); swaps and merchant payments run through third-party services.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: yes; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Open source: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Zodl (formerly Zashi) require KYC?
Zodl (formerly Zashi) is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Self-custody wallet ("Only you can see, access, and manage your wallet"); swaps and merchant payments run through third-party services.

### Is Zodl (formerly Zashi) safe to use?
Zodl (formerly Zashi) has a Safety grade of 6.4 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Zodl (formerly Zashi) legit?
Zodl (formerly Zashi) is a working wallet. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.4 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Zodl (formerly Zashi) a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Zodl (formerly Zashi).

### Do I need an account or email to use Zodl (formerly Zashi)?
No account needed.

### Does Zodl (formerly Zashi) have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Zodl (formerly Zashi)'s own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Zodl (formerly Zashi) support?
Zodl (formerly Zashi) supports ZEC.

### Can I use Zodl (formerly Zashi) over Tor?
Zodl (formerly Zashi) does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://zodl.com
- https://zodl.com/zashi-is-becoming-zodl/
- https://github.com/zodl-inc/zodl-android

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
