Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

Proton Wallet is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.4/10 for privacy (fair) and 6.9/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: never holds your funds, open source and company named. To watch: it requires an email address. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • Never holds your funds

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Open source

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • Company named

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

Before you use it

  • Email required

    An email address is required to use the service.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About Proton Wallet

Proton Wallet is a Bitcoin wallet for iOS, Android and the web from Proton Financial AG, a Swiss subsidiary of Proton AG based in Baar, Zug. The product page says the wallet is end-to-end encrypted so that only the user holds the keys, and that its code is open source; it also offers sending bitcoin to an email address. The terms say the company never stores or has custody of private keys or backup phrases, but that an account is needed to access some or all of the services and that the company may suspend an account for unusual or fraudulent activity. Purchases inside the app go through third-party on-ramps named in the terms as Ramp, MoonPay and Banxa; the terms do not describe identity checks by Proton itself.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "Proton Wallet review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/proton-wallet

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

3 / 13 features confirmed1 warning in the recorded terms

Identity

0 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededNo

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededNo

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberNot stated

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningNot stated

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

3 / 5 confirmed
  • Never holds your fundsYes

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Open sourceYes

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedYes

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingNot stated

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

1 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Screens depositsNot in terms

    Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.

  • Holds your fundsNot in terms

    The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.

  • Email requiredYes

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceNot in terms

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does Proton Wallet require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in Proton Wallet's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • Account required
  • Email may be asked
  • Phone may be asked
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

Terms require a Proton account but contain no identity verification requirement by Proton; on-ramp providers (Ramp, MoonPay, Banxa) are third parties.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.4/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Open source +2
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Third-party liquidity -3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 64

Safety

6.9/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Third-party liquidity -6
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 69

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Proton Wallet’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for Proton Wallet. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used Proton Wallet?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Proton Wallet

All alternatives →

Proton Wallet vs ElectrumProton Wallet vs PhoenixProton Wallet vs Wasabi WalletProton Wallet vs ZEUS

Proton Wallet: common questions

Does Proton Wallet require KYC?

Proton Wallet is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Terms require a Proton account but contain no identity verification requirement by Proton; on-ramp providers (Ramp, MoonPay, Banxa) are third parties.

Is Proton Wallet safe to use?

Proton Wallet has a Safety grade of 6.9 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Proton Wallet legit?

Proton Wallet is a working wallet. It publishes the company that runs it, in Switzerland. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.9 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Proton Wallet a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Proton Wallet.

Do I need an account or email to use Proton Wallet?

Email required.

Does Proton Wallet have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Proton Wallet's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Proton Wallet support?

Proton Wallet supports BTC.

Can I use Proton Wallet over Tor?

Proton Wallet does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.