Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Marketplaces Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

Shopstr review

Open-source Nostr marketplace with self-custodial Lightning and Cashu payments

  • No account needed
  • Accepts Lightning
  • No email needed
  • No phone number
ID never required KYC 0 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

8.0/ 10

Strong

Safety

7.0/ 10

Strong

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

Shopstr review in short

Shopstr is a marketplace. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 8.0/10 for privacy (strong) and 7.0/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Category
Marketplaces
KYC level
0 of 4: ID never required
Grades
Privacy 8.0/10, Safety 7.0/10
Sign-up
No account needed
Custody
non-custodial
Fees
No mandatory platform fee; sellers may set an optional donation rate
Jurisdiction
Decentralised / none
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "Shopstr review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/shopstr

Also available as plain text.

What Shopstr is

Shopstr is a marketplace built on the Nostr protocol where anyone can list goods and be paid in Bitcoin. The site describes itself as free to use, with no KYC, self-custodial payments and open-source code. Sellers hold their own Nostr keys, so the site says a shop cannot be banned or frozen by a company, and user data is stored encrypted on relays the user chooses. Payments settle over Lightning or Cashu ecash directly between buyer and seller; the platform says it holds no funds and takes no mandatory fee, although sellers may set an optional donation rate. Its FAQ also covers signing in with an existing Nostr account and a pay-to-public-key escrow option.

What Shopstr offers, and what to watch

5 of 12 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Yes The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Yes Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Escrow it cannot spend alone Not stated
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Not stated
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does Shopstr require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 0: ID never required. The terms rule out identity checks, or the design makes them impossible.

Site states "No KYC" and "Self-custodial payments"; sign-in uses Nostr keys rather than an operator account.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

8.0
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 0: ID never required +20
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Accepts Lightning +1
  • Open source +2
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 80

Safety

7.0
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 70

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Shopstr’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for Shopstr. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Shopstr

All alternatives →

Shopstr vs PurismShopstr vs XmrBazaarShopstr vs ShopinBitShopstr vs Crypto Emporium

Shopstr: common questions

Does Shopstr require KYC?

Shopstr is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Site states "No KYC" and "Self-custodial payments"; sign-in uses Nostr keys rather than an operator account.

Is Shopstr safe to use?

Shopstr has a Safety grade of 7.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 8.0 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Shopstr legit?

Shopstr is a working marketplace. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Shopstr a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Shopstr.

Do I need an account or email to use Shopstr?

No account needed.

What fees does Shopstr charge?

No mandatory platform fee; sellers may set an optional donation rate. Fees were recorded from Shopstr's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does Shopstr have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Shopstr's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Shopstr support?

Shopstr supports BTC.

Can I use Shopstr over Tor?

Shopstr does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.