Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

ShapeShift is an aggregator. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 7.1/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.2/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. To watch: it passes orders to partner exchanges. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • No account needed

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email needed

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone number

    A phone number is never required.

Before you use it

  • Passes orders to partners

    Orders go to upstream exchanges that apply their own screening.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About ShapeShift

ShapeShift today is a community-owned, open-source DeFi app run by the ShapeShift DAO, not the former company that required accounts. The app connects to the user's own wallet and routes trades across DEXs and cross-chain protocols such as THORChain and Maya, showing the venue, miner fee and other fees before each trade; fiat on and off ramps are offered through third parties. Its terms of service (dated January 2022) say the platform is fully non-custodial and never takes access to wallets or keys, and contain no identity-verification requirement. The code is public under the MIT licence.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "ShapeShift review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/shapeshift

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

4 / 14 features confirmed1 warning in the recorded terms

Identity

3 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededYes

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededYes

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberYes

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningNot stated

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

1 / 6 confirmed
  • Never holds your fundsNot stated

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Own liquidityNo

    Fills orders from its own reserves, so no upstream exchange screens your deposit.

  • Refund without IDNot stated

    The terms commit to refunding a stopped order without identity documents.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedNot stated

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingYes

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

1 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Screens depositsNot in terms

    Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.

  • Passes orders to partnersYes

    Orders go to upstream exchanges that apply their own screening.

  • Holds your fundsNot in terms

    The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.

  • Email requiredNot in terms

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does ShapeShift require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in ShapeShift's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • No account needed
  • No email
  • No phone number
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

Terms of service (January 2022) contain no identity-verification requirement; they state the platform "is fully noncustodial". Third-party fiat ramps reached through the app apply their own checks.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

7.1/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • No registration +6
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Open source +2
  • Third-party liquidity -3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 71

Safety

6.2/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Third-party liquidity -6
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 62

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on ShapeShift’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for ShapeShift. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used ShapeShift?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to ShapeShift

All alternatives →

ShapeShift vs B2P CentralShapeShift vs THORSwapShapeShift vs AnonExchShapeShift vs InstaSwap

ShapeShift: common questions

Does ShapeShift require KYC?

ShapeShift is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Terms of service (January 2022) contain no identity-verification requirement; they state the platform "is fully noncustodial". Third-party fiat ramps reached through the app apply their own checks.

Is ShapeShift safe to use?

ShapeShift has a Safety grade of 6.2 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.1 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is ShapeShift legit?

ShapeShift is a working aggregator. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.2 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is ShapeShift a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for ShapeShift.

Do I need an account or email to use ShapeShift?

No account needed.

Does ShapeShift have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on ShapeShift's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does ShapeShift support?

ShapeShift supports BTC, ETH, RUNE, CACAO, ATOM, DOGE, LTC, BCH, SOL.

Is ShapeShift custodial?

No. ShapeShift is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

Can I use ShapeShift over Tor?

ShapeShift does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.