Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

Runbox is an email provider. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.2/10 for privacy (fair) and 6.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: accepts cash, company named and 5+ years operating. To watch: it requires an email address. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • Accepts cash

    Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

  • Company named

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operating

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Before you use it

  • Email required

    An email address is required to use the service.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About Runbox

Runbox is a paid email and web hosting service run by Runbox Solutions AS, incorporated in Norway, with servers in Norway; the site says addresses have been kept for 26 years. The terms give a 30-day trial. The payment-methods page lists cards, PayPal, bank transfer in USD, EUR or NOK, cryptocurrency (Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Cardano, Ethereum, Litecoin, Stellar Lumens and USDC) and cash by regular mail, which it describes as at your own risk. The help centre says crypto is paid to a shown address and then reported to billing by email. The privacy policy lists name, country and an alternative email address among registration data, with a mobile phone number only "where applicable", and says delivery logs are kept for 10 days and webmail logs for one month.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "Runbox review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/runbox

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

3 / 14 features confirmed1 warning in the recorded terms

Identity

0 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededNo

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededNo

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberNot stated

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

1 / 3 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningNot stated

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

  • Accepts cashYes

    Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

2 / 5 confirmed
  • Open sourceNot stated

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • No-logs policyNot stated

    States that connection or activity logs are not kept.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedYes

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingYes

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

1 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Email requiredYes

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceNot in terms

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does Runbox require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in Runbox's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • Account required
  • Email may be asked
  • Phone may be asked
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

Limits: Email delivery logs kept 10 days, webmail logs one month

No identity-document requirement appears in the terms; registration collects a name and an alternative email address.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.2/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Accepts cash +4
  • Requires email -4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 62

Safety

6.5/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 65

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Runbox’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for Runbox. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used Runbox?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Runbox

All alternatives →

Runbox vs Proton MailRunbox vs TutaRunbox vs PosteoRunbox vs Onion Mail

Runbox: common questions

Does Runbox require KYC?

Runbox is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity-document requirement appears in the terms; registration collects a name and an alternative email address.

Is Runbox safe to use?

Runbox has a Safety grade of 6.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Runbox legit?

Runbox is a working email provider. It publishes the company that runs it, in Norway. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Runbox a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Runbox.

Do I need an account or email to use Runbox?

Email required.

What fees does Runbox charge?

Paid plans after a 30-day trial. Fees were recorded from Runbox's own pages and can change; check before you send.

What are Runbox's limits?

Email delivery logs kept 10 days, webmail logs one month.

Does Runbox have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Runbox's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Runbox support?

Runbox supports BTC, BCH, ADA, ETH, LTC, XLM, USDC, and fiat payments in USD, EUR, NOK.

Can I use Runbox over Tor?

Runbox does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.