Swiss end-to-end encrypted email with a free tier; paid plans payable in Bitcoin or cash
Email Since 2014 Reviewed 22 Oct 2026
mailbox review
German prepaid email and office suite that accepts pseudonyms and cash by post
- Accepts cash
- No email needed
- Company named
- 5+ years operating
- No phone number
Privacy
7.0/ 10
Strong
Safety
6.5/ 10
Fair
Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic
mailbox review in short
mailbox is an email provider operating since 2014. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 7.0/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no email needed, no phone number and accepts cash. No incidents are on record.
- Category
- KYC level
- 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- Grades
- Privacy 7.0/10, Safety 6.5/10
- Sign-up
- Email optional
- Fees
- Private plans: Light 1 EUR/month (annual payment only, otherwise 12 EUR), Standard 4 EUR/month, Premium 12 EUR/month; 30-day free trial. Prepaid credit is not refundable.
- Jurisdiction
- Germany
- Incidents on record
- 0
- Last reviewed
- 22 Oct 2026
Cite this review
NoKYC Score, "mailbox review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/mailbox-org
Also available as plain text.
What mailbox is
mailbox (formerly branded mailbox.org) is a paid email provider run from Berlin by Heinlein Hosting GmbH, bundling mail with calendar, cloud drive, video meetings and an online office suite. Private plans start at 1 euro a month on annual payment and are prepaid as account credit; there is no permanent free tier, only a 30-day trial. The provider asks for a first and last name at sign-up but says it never verifies them, so a pseudonym is allowed, and a recovery email or phone number is optional. Credit can be added by bank transfer, SEPA direct debit, credit card, PayPal, cash sent by post in euro banknotes or a cash deposit to its bank account. Its knowledge base states that cryptocurrencies are currently not accepted. The webmail works in Tor Browser. Older knowledge-base pages listed a Tor onion service for the mail servers, but the current knowledge base no longer publishes one.
What mailbox offers, and what to watch
5 of 14 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.
"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.
Identity
- ID never required Not stated
- No account needed Not stated
- No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
- No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.
Payment
- Accepts Monero Not stated
- Accepts Lightning Not stated
- Accepts cash Yes Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.
Access
- Tor onion address Not stated
- Works without JavaScript Not stated
Trust
- Open source Not stated
- No-logs policy Not stated
- Independent audit Not stated
- Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
- 5+ years operating Yes Has operated continuously for five years or more.
Warnings
- May ask for ID Not in terms
- Email required Not in terms
- Phone number required Not in terms
- Closed source Not in terms
- Nobody accountable Not in terms
Does mailbox require KYC?
- 0 Never
- 1 Not mentioned
- 2 Rare
- 3 On risk flag
- 4 Mandatory
KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.
A first and last name are requested but, per the official knowledge base, never verified, so pseudonyms are allowed; no identity documents are mentioned in the terms. Login-recovery details are optional.
How the grades add up
Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.
Privacy
7.0- Starting points 50
- KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
- Accepts cash +4
- No phone needed +1
- No email needed +3
- Total, clamped to 0–100 70
Safety
6.5- Starting points 50
- 5+ years operating +10
- Legal entity disclosed +5
- Total, clamped to 0–100 65
Test ledger
Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.
No test transactions published yet
The grades above rest on mailbox’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.
Incidents on record
No incidents are on record for mailbox. If you have a documented case, report it.
User reviews
Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.
No reviews yet.
Write a review
Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.
Alternatives to mailbox
All alternatives →German encrypted email and calendar with open-source clients and a free tier
Berlin email provider at €1/month that separates payments from accounts; takes cash
Email with an official onion address, PGP storage encryption and anonymous signup
mailbox vs Proton Mailmailbox vs Tutamailbox vs Posteomailbox vs Onion Mail
mailbox: common questions
Does mailbox require KYC?
mailbox is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. A first and last name are requested but, per the official knowledge base, never verified, so pseudonyms are allowed; no identity documents are mentioned in the terms. Login-recovery details are optional.
Is mailbox safe to use?
mailbox has a Safety grade of 6.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.0 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.
Is mailbox legit?
mailbox is a working email provider that has operated since 2014. It publishes the company that runs it, in Germany. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.
Is mailbox a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for mailbox.
Do I need an account or email to use mailbox?
Email optional.
What fees does mailbox charge?
Private plans: Light 1 EUR/month (annual payment only, otherwise 12 EUR), Standard 4 EUR/month, Premium 12 EUR/month; 30-day free trial. Prepaid credit is not refundable. Fees were recorded from mailbox's own pages and can change; check before you send.
Does mailbox have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on mailbox's own pages.
Can I use mailbox over Tor?
mailbox does not publish an official onion address.
Listing history
- Listing added as unrated. Not yet confirmed against the service's own pages.