Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Email Since 2014 Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

StartMail review

Paid private email from the Startpage founders; annual plans payable in Bitcoin

  • No account needed
  • No email needed
  • Company named
  • 5+ years operating
  • No phone number
No ID mentioned KYC 1 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

6.2/ 10

Fair

Safety

6.5/ 10

Fair

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

StartMail review in short

StartMail is an email provider operating since 2014. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.2/10 for privacy (fair) and 6.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Category
Email
KYC level
1 of 4: No ID mentioned
Grades
Privacy 6.2/10, Safety 6.5/10
Sign-up
No account needed
Fees
$4.99/month billed annually when checked
Jurisdiction
Netherlands
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "StartMail review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/startmail

Also available as plain text.

What StartMail is

StartMail is a paid private email service built by the people who previously founded the Startpage search engine. It offers encrypted mail, unlimited aliases including one-click burner aliases, and custom-domain support. The pricing page listed the personal plan at $4.99 per month billed annually when checked, with a seven-day free trial, and states that customers who pay annually can do so anonymously with Bitcoin by contacting the company for the price and payment address. There is no permanent free tier. The service is operated from the Netherlands, so Dutch and EU law govern requests for data.

What StartMail offers, and what to watch

5 of 14 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Not stated
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated
  • Accepts cash Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Open source Not stated
  • No-logs policy Not stated
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
  • 5+ years operating Yes Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does StartMail require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

No identity documents are requested; annual plans can be paid anonymously in Bitcoin on request.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.2
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 62

Safety

6.5
  • Starting points 50
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 65

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on StartMail’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for StartMail. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to StartMail

All alternatives →

StartMail vs Proton MailStartMail vs TutaStartMail vs PosteoStartMail vs Onion Mail

StartMail: common questions

Does StartMail require KYC?

StartMail is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity documents are requested; annual plans can be paid anonymously in Bitcoin on request.

Is StartMail safe to use?

StartMail has a Safety grade of 6.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is StartMail legit?

StartMail is a working email provider that has operated since 2014. It publishes the company that runs it, in Netherlands. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is StartMail a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for StartMail.

Do I need an account or email to use StartMail?

No account needed.

What fees does StartMail charge?

$4.99/month billed annually when checked. Fees were recorded from StartMail's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does StartMail have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on StartMail's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does StartMail support?

StartMail supports BTC, and fiat payments in USD, EUR.

Can I use StartMail over Tor?

StartMail does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.