# Lumo review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Lumo is an AI service. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 8.4/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.3/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Lumo review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/lumo

## Key facts
- **Category:** Private AI
- **KYC level:** 0 of 4: ID never required
- **Grades:** Privacy 8.4/10, Safety 6.3/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Fees:** Free tier; Lumo Plus listed from $9.99/month billed yearly
- **Jurisdiction:** Switzerland
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://lumo.proton.me

## What it is
Lumo is an AI chat assistant from Proton, the Swiss company behind Proton Mail and Proton VPN. The product page says conversations are stored with zero-access encryption so that not even Proton can read them, that chats are not logged and are never used to train models, and that the code is open source. Its FAQ notes that Lumo can be used through Tor with guest access, with no need to log in or create a Proton account. A free plan is available without a credit card, and the paid Lumo Plus plan is listed from $9.99 per month when billed yearly. The service is described as based in Europe and outside US jurisdiction.

## What the terms say about ID
FAQ states guest access is available with "no need to log in or create a Proton account".

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: yes; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: yes; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Lumo require KYC?
Lumo is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. FAQ states guest access is available with "no need to log in or create a Proton account".

### Is Lumo safe to use?
Lumo has a Safety grade of 6.3 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 8.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Lumo legit?
Lumo is a working AI service. It publishes the company that runs it, in Switzerland. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.3 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Lumo a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Lumo.

### Do I need an account or email to use Lumo?
No account needed.

### What fees does Lumo charge?
Free tier; Lumo Plus listed from $9.99/month billed yearly. Fees were recorded from Lumo's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does Lumo have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Lumo's own pages.

### Can I use Lumo over Tor?
Lumo does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://proton.me/lumo
- https://github.com/ProtonMail/WebClients/tree/main/applications/lumo

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
