Skip to content
NoKYC Score

VPNs Since 2009 Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

IVPN review

VPN with generated account IDs, no email, and cash, Monero or Bitcoin payment

  • No account needed
  • Accepts Monero
  • Open source
  • No-logs policy
  • Independent audit
  • Accepts cash
ID never required KYC 0 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

9.4/ 10

Excellent

Safety

7.2/ 10

Strong

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

IVPN review in short

IVPN is a VPN operating since 2009. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 9.4/10 for privacy (excellent) and 7.2/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. One incident is on record, the latest from 7 Aug 2026.

Category
VPNs
KYC level
0 of 4: ID never required
Grades
Privacy 9.4/10, Safety 7.2/10
Sign-up
Random account number
Fees
Standard plan $2/week, $6/month or $60/year when checked
Jurisdiction
Gibraltar
Incidents on record
1
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "IVPN review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/ivpn

Also available as plain text.

What IVPN is

IVPN is a VPN provider that generates an account ID at sign-up and states that it does not collect or store personal data, not even an email address. The site says it accepts cash, Monero and Bitcoin, that its apps and website are open source, that it does not log user activity and that it commits to annual independent security audits. The Standard plan was listed at $2 per week, $6 per month or $60 per year when checked. In August 2026 the company reported that 0.6168 BTC of its own operating funds was taken through a BTCPay Server vulnerability, with no customer data or customer funds affected.

What IVPN offers, and what to watch

11 of 14 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Yes The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
  • Accepts Lightning Yes Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.
  • Accepts cash Yes Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
  • No-logs policy Yes States that connection or activity logs are not kept.
  • Independent audit Yes A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.
  • Company named Not stated
  • 5+ years operating Yes Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does IVPN require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 0: ID never required. The terms rule out identity checks, or the design makes them impossible.

Site states no personal data is collected at sign-up, "not even your email"; accounts are generated IDs.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

9.4
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 0: ID never required +20
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Account-number login +5
  • Accepts Monero +4
  • Accepts Lightning +1
  • Accepts cash +4
  • Open source +2
  • Independent audit +2
  • No-logs policy +2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 94

Safety

7.2
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Independent audit +8
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Company funds taken through BTCPay Server flaw; no customer data or funds affected low · funds lost · 77 days ago -4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 72

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on IVPN’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

low

Hack or exploit

Company funds taken through BTCPay Server flaw; no customer data or funds affected

IVPN reported that attackers used a BTCPay Server vulnerability disclosed on 7 August 2026 to extract its Lightning node credentials and move 0.6168 BTC of the company's operating funds. According to the company, its VPN systems were not involved, no customer data was accessed and no customer funds were lost. Lightning payments on its website were unavailable from 7 to 10 August and were then restored.

Funds lost Source: ivpn.net ↗

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to IVPN

All alternatives →

IVPN vs WindscribeIVPN vs Mullvad VPNIVPN vs AzireVPNIVPN vs Proton VPN

IVPN: common questions

Does IVPN require KYC?

IVPN is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Site states no personal data is collected at sign-up, "not even your email"; accounts are generated IDs.

Is IVPN safe to use?

IVPN has a Safety grade of 7.2 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 9.4 out of 10. There is 1 incident on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is IVPN legit?

IVPN is a working VPN that has operated since 2009. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.2 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is IVPN a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. IVPN has 1 incident on record, 1 not resolved, the latest: "Company funds taken through BTCPay Server flaw; no customer data or funds affected". Each is listed on this page with its source.

Do I need an account or email to use IVPN?

Random account number.

What fees does IVPN charge?

Standard plan $2/week, $6/month or $60/year when checked. Fees were recorded from IVPN's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does IVPN have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on IVPN's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does IVPN support?

IVPN supports BTC, XMR, and fiat payments in USD.

Can I use IVPN over Tor?

IVPN does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.
  • Incident recorded: Company funds taken through BTCPay Server flaw; no customer data or funds affected