# IVPN review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> IVPN is a VPN operating since 2009. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 9.4/10 for privacy (excellent) and 7.2/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. One incident is on record, the latest from 7 Aug 2026.

Source: NoKYC Score, "IVPN review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/ivpn

## Key facts
- **Category:** VPNs
- **KYC level:** 0 of 4: ID never required
- **Grades:** Privacy 9.4/10, Safety 7.2/10
- **Sign-up:** Random account number
- **Fees:** Standard plan $2/week, $6/month or $60/year when checked
- **Jurisdiction:** Gibraltar
- **Incidents on record:** 1
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://www.ivpn.net

## What it is
IVPN is a VPN provider that generates an account ID at sign-up and states that it does not collect or store personal data, not even an email address. The site says it accepts cash, Monero and Bitcoin, that its apps and website are open source, that it does not log user activity and that it commits to annual independent security audits. The Standard plan was listed at $2 per week, $6 per month or $60 per year when checked. In August 2026 the company reported that 0.6168 BTC of its own operating funds was taken through a BTCPay Server vulnerability, with no customer data or customer funds affected.

## What the terms say about ID
Site states no personal data is collected at sign-up, "not even your email"; accounts are generated IDs.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: yes; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: yes; Accepts cash: yes
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: yes; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: yes; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Incidents on record
- 7 Aug 2026: Company funds taken through BTCPay Server flaw; no customer data or funds affected (outcome: funds lost). Source: https://www.ivpn.net/blog/security-incident-bitcoin-payment-server/

## Questions
### Does IVPN require KYC?
IVPN is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Site states no personal data is collected at sign-up, "not even your email"; accounts are generated IDs.

### Is IVPN safe to use?
IVPN has a Safety grade of 7.2 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 9.4 out of 10. There is 1 incident on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is IVPN legit?
IVPN is a working VPN that has operated since 2009. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.2 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is IVPN a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. IVPN has 1 incident on record, 1 not resolved, the latest: "Company funds taken through BTCPay Server flaw; no customer data or funds affected". Each is listed on this page with its source.

### Do I need an account or email to use IVPN?
Random account number.

### What fees does IVPN charge?
Standard plan $2/week, $6/month or $60/year when checked. Fees were recorded from IVPN's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does IVPN have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on IVPN's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does IVPN support?
IVPN supports BTC, XMR, and fiat payments in USD.

### Can I use IVPN over Tor?
IVPN does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://www.ivpn.net/en/
- https://www.ivpn.net/en/pricing/
- https://www.ivpn.net/blog/security-incident-bitcoin-payment-server/

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
