Skip to content
NoKYC Score

VPNs Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

Safing SPN review

Onion-routed privacy network built into the open-source Portmaster firewall

  • Accepts Monero
  • Open source
  • No-logs policy
  • Accepts cash
  • No email needed
  • Company named
No ID mentioned KYC 1 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

7.4/ 10

Strong

Safety

6.3/ 10

Fair

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

Safing SPN review in short

Safing SPN is a VPN. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 7.4/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.3/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no email needed, accepts Monero and accepts cash. No incidents are on record.

Category
VPNs
KYC level
1 of 4: No ID mentioned
Grades
Privacy 7.4/10, Safety 6.3/10
Sign-up
Email optional
Fees
Portmaster Pro (includes SPN) listed at €8/month or €80/year when checked
Jurisdiction
Austria
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "Safing SPN review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/safing-spn

Also available as plain text.

What Safing SPN is

SPN (Safing Privacy Network) sends each connection through its own multi-hop, onion-encrypted path and is included in the paid Portmaster Pro plan. The terms name Safing ICS Technologies GmbH, a company incorporated in Austria, as the contracting party and state that browsing history, traffic destinations, IP addresses and DNS queries are not logged; the about page says Portmaster and SPN are now developed and operated by IVPN. An account with a username and password is required: the privacy policy says the username need not be a real name and that an email address is only required for some payment methods. Payment is accepted by card, PayPal, posted cash, Bitcoin and Monero.

What Safing SPN offers, and what to watch

6 of 14 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Not stated
  • No account needed Not stated
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Not stated

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated
  • Accepts cash Yes Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
  • No-logs policy Yes States that connection or activity logs are not kept.
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does Safing SPN require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

The terms require a user account but ask for no identity documents; the privacy policy lists a self-chosen user name ("not your real name") and an email address "required for some payment methods".

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

7.4
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Accepts Monero +4
  • Accepts cash +4
  • Open source +2
  • No-logs policy +2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 74

Safety

6.3
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 63

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Safing SPN’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for Safing SPN. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Safing SPN

All alternatives →

Safing SPN vs WindscribeSafing SPN vs Mullvad VPNSafing SPN vs AzireVPNSafing SPN vs Proton VPN

Safing SPN: common questions

Does Safing SPN require KYC?

Safing SPN is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. The terms require a user account but ask for no identity documents; the privacy policy lists a self-chosen user name ("not your real name") and an email address "required for some payment methods".

Is Safing SPN safe to use?

Safing SPN has a Safety grade of 6.3 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Safing SPN legit?

Safing SPN is a working VPN. It publishes the company that runs it, in Austria. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.3 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Safing SPN a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Safing SPN.

Do I need an account or email to use Safing SPN?

Email optional.

What fees does Safing SPN charge?

Portmaster Pro (includes SPN) listed at €8/month or €80/year when checked. Fees were recorded from Safing SPN's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does Safing SPN have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Safing SPN's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Safing SPN support?

Safing SPN supports BTC, XMR, and fiat payments in EUR.

Can I use Safing SPN over Tor?

Safing SPN does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.