Cross-chain DEX protocol for native BTC, ETH, SOL and stablecoin swaps
Instant Swaps Since 2024 Reviewed 21 Oct 2026
GhostSwap review
Swap front-end routing orders through third-party processing partners
- No account needed
- Accepts Monero
- Tor onion address
- Own liquidity
- Holds your funds
- Nobody accountable
Privacy
10.0/ 10
Excellent
Safety
8.4/ 10
Strong
Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic
GhostSwap review in short
GhostSwap is a swap service operating since 2024. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 10.0/10 for privacy (excellent) and 8.4/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. To watch: it holds your funds while you use it and has no publicly accountable operator. No incidents are on record.
- Category
- Instant Swaps
- KYC level
- 0 of 4: ID never required
- Grades
- Privacy 10.0/10, Safety 8.4/10
- Sign-up
- No account needed
- Custody
- custodial
- Limits
- Limits depend on the pair and are shown in the swap form; the homepage example showed 0.00001 BTC minimum and 2 BTC maximum when checked
- Onion address
- Yes
- Incidents on record
- 0
- Last reviewed
- 21 Oct 2026
Cite this review
NoKYC Score, "GhostSwap review", reviewed 21 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/ghostswap
Also available as plain text.
What GhostSwap is
GhostSwap presents itself as a no-KYC, no-account, no-email swap interface for more than 1,600 coins and says it has operated since October 2024. Its terms of use, dated May 2026, say transactions are processed by licensed third-party liquidity and processing partners and are subject to those partners' automated AML and sanctions procedures, with the right to block, reject or refund flagged transactions. Its privacy policy adds that a partner generates the deposit address, receives the funds and sends the payout, and that in rare cases the partner may ask for verification before releasing a swap; the site's page on delayed swaps says this can include verifying identity. No operating company or jurisdiction is named. The privacy policy publishes an onion address covering the swap form and status page.
What GhostSwap offers, and what to watch
11 of 15 privacy and safety features, 2 warnings in its terms.
"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.
Identity
- ID never required Yes The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.
- No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
- No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
- No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.
Payment
- Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
- Accepts Lightning Yes Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.
Access
- Tor onion address Yes An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.
- Works without JavaScript Yes Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.
Trust
- Never holds your funds No
- Own liquidity Yes Fills orders from its own reserves, so no upstream exchange screens your deposit.
- Refund without ID Yes The terms commit to refunding a stopped order without identity documents.
- Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
- Independent audit Not stated
- Company named No
- 5+ years operating Not stated
Warnings
- May ask for ID Not in terms
- Screens deposits Not in terms
- Passes orders to partners Not in terms
- Holds your funds Yes The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.
- Email required Not in terms
- Phone number required Not in terms
- Closed source Not in terms
- Nobody accountable Yes No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.
Does GhostSwap require KYC?
- 0 Never
- 1 Not mentioned
- 2 Rare
- 3 On risk flag
- 4 Mandatory
KYC level 0: ID never required. The terms rule out identity checks, or the design makes them impossible.
Terms subject every swap to partners' automated AML and sanctions checks and allow blocking or rejecting flagged transactions; the privacy policy and the delayed-swap page say the partner may ask for verification, including identity, before releasing a held swap.
How the grades add up
Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.
Privacy
10.0- Starting points 50
- KYC level 0: ID never required +20
- No registration +6
- Account-number login +5
- No email needed +3
- No phone needed +1
- Tor onion service +4
- Works without JavaScript +1
- Accepts Monero +4
- Accepts Lightning +1
- Open source +2
- Non-custodial +3
- No-logs policy +2
- Own liquidity +1
- Refund without ID +2
- Total, clamped to 0–100 100
Safety
8.4- Starting points 50
- Open source +8
- Non-custodial +12
- Own liquidity +6
- Multisig or hold-invoice escrow +6
- Refund without ID +6
- Anonymous operator -4
- Total, clamped to 0–100 84
Test ledger
Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.
No test transactions published yet
The grades above rest on GhostSwap’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.
Incidents on record
No incidents are on record for GhostSwap. If you have a documented case, report it.
User reviews
Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.
No reviews yet.
Write a review
Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.
Alternatives to GhostSwap
All alternatives →Open-source front end for atomic swaps between Bitcoin, Lightning, Liquid and Rootstock
Desktop wallet for peer-to-peer BTC-to-XMR atomic swaps, formerly UnstoppableSwap
Instant crypto swap paying out from its own liquidity, with PGP-signed swap receipts and a SimpleX bot
GhostSwap vs ChainflipGhostSwap vs Swap MarketGhostSwap vs eigenwalletGhostSwap vs Bitania
GhostSwap: common questions
Does GhostSwap require KYC?
GhostSwap is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Terms subject every swap to partners' automated AML and sanctions checks and allow blocking or rejecting flagged transactions; the privacy policy and the delayed-swap page say the partner may ask for verification, including identity, before releasing a held swap.
Is GhostSwap safe to use?
GhostSwap has a Safety grade of 8.4 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 10.0 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.
Is GhostSwap legit?
GhostSwap is a working swap service that has operated since 2024. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 8.4 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.
Is GhostSwap a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for GhostSwap.
Do I need an account or email to use GhostSwap?
No account needed.
What are GhostSwap's limits?
Limits depend on the pair and are shown in the swap form; the homepage example showed 0.00001 BTC minimum and 2 BTC maximum when checked.
Does GhostSwap have a Tor onion address?
Yes. GhostSwap publishes an official onion address, shown on this page. Open it in Tor Browser.
Which cryptocurrencies does GhostSwap support?
GhostSwap supports BTC, ETH, XMR, ZEC, SOL, USDT.
Is GhostSwap custodial?
Yes. GhostSwap holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.
Can I use GhostSwap over Tor?
Yes. GhostSwap publishes an official onion address, shown on this page.
Listing history
- Incident record removed by an editor: Reported withholding of 20.5 ETH from a swap
- Attributes updated. Added: account-number-login, escrow-multisig.
- Attributes updated. Added: works-without-js, accepts-lightning, open-source, non-custodial, no-logs-policy, own-liquidity, refund-policy.
- Attributes updated. Removed: closed-source, third-party-liquidity, aml-screening, may-request-kyc.
- KYC level changed from 3 (ID on risk flag) to 0 (ID never required).
- Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.
- Incident recorded: Reported withholding of 20.5 ETH from a swap