Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

CounterMail is an email provider. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.4/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.0/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no-logs policy. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • No-logs policy

    States that connection or activity logs are not kept.

Before you use it

No warning flags found in the recorded terms. This is not a guarantee of safety.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About CounterMail

CounterMail is an OpenPGP-encrypted webmail service with servers in Sweden, diskless web servers and a dynamic alias feature. Its services page states the service is closed for new registrations, and the changelog refers to invitation codes for existing members. The terms list cards, bank transfer and Bitcoin, but a June 2024 changelog entry says Bitcoin payments were disabled for new accounts because of new laws in its country. Premium plans were listed at $29 for six months to $79 for two years. The privacy page says IP addresses are not logged and that payment details are stripped after 14 days, keeping only accounting data. No operating company is named on the pages read.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "CounterMail review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/countermail

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

1 / 14 features confirmed0 warnings in the recorded terms

Identity

0 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededNot stated

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededNot stated

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberNot stated

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

0 / 3 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningNot stated

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

  • Accepts cashNot stated

    Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

1 / 5 confirmed
  • Open sourceNot stated

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • No-logs policyYes

    States that connection or activity logs are not kept.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedNot stated

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingNot stated

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

0 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Email requiredNot in terms

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceNot in terms

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does CounterMail require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in CounterMail's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • Account required
  • Email may be asked
  • Phone may be asked
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

No identity documents are mentioned; the terms only allow shutting accounts bought with a stolen card or identity.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.4/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • No-logs policy +2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 64

Safety

5.0/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 50

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on CounterMail’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for CounterMail. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used CounterMail?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to CounterMail

All alternatives →

CounterMail vs Proton MailCounterMail vs TutaCounterMail vs PosteoCounterMail vs Onion Mail

CounterMail: common questions

Does CounterMail require KYC?

CounterMail is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity documents are mentioned; the terms only allow shutting accounts bought with a stolen card or identity.

Is CounterMail safe to use?

CounterMail has a Safety grade of 5.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is CounterMail legit?

CounterMail is a working email provider. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is CounterMail a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for CounterMail.

What fees does CounterMail charge?

$29 (6 months) to $79 (24 months) when listed. Fees were recorded from CounterMail's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does CounterMail have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on CounterMail's own pages.

Can I use CounterMail over Tor?

CounterMail does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.