# CounterMail review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> CounterMail is an email provider. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.4/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.0/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no-logs policy. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "CounterMail review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/countermail

## Key facts
- **Category:** Email
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.4/10, Safety 5.0/10
- **Fees:** $29 (6 months) to $79 (24 months) when listed
- **Jurisdiction:** Sweden
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 23 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://countermail.com

## What it is
CounterMail is an OpenPGP-encrypted webmail service with servers in Sweden, diskless web servers and a dynamic alias feature. Its services page states the service is closed for new registrations, and the changelog refers to invitation codes for existing members. The terms list cards, bank transfer and Bitcoin, but a June 2024 changelog entry says Bitcoin payments were disabled for new accounts because of new laws in its country. Premium plans were listed at $29 for six months to $79 for two years. The privacy page says IP addresses are not logged and that payment details are stripped after 14 days, keeping only accounting data. No operating company is named on the pages read.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity documents are mentioned; the terms only allow shutting accounts bought with a stolen card or identity.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: not stated; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: not stated; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does CounterMail require KYC?
CounterMail is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity documents are mentioned; the terms only allow shutting accounts bought with a stolen card or identity.

### Is CounterMail safe to use?
CounterMail has a Safety grade of 5.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is CounterMail legit?
CounterMail is a working email provider. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is CounterMail a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for CounterMail.

### What fees does CounterMail charge?
$29 (6 months) to $79 (24 months) when listed. Fees were recorded from CounterMail's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does CounterMail have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on CounterMail's own pages.

### Can I use CounterMail over Tor?
CounterMail does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://countermail.com/
- https://countermail.com/?p=services
- https://countermail.com/?p=privacy
- https://countermail.com/?p=terms
- https://countermail.com/?p=changelog&t=20240618

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
