Open-source desktop P2P exchange for bitcoin with no registration
P2P Exchanges Since 2018 Reviewed 22 Oct 2026
Bitpapa review
Custodial P2P marketplace with escrow, web wallet and Telegram bot
- Accepts Monero
- 5+ years operating
- May ask for ID
- Screens deposits
- Holds your funds
Privacy
1.9/ 10
Poor
Safety
4.8/ 10
Caution
Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic
Bitpapa review in short
Bitpapa is a P2P exchange operating since 2018. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 1.9/10 for privacy (poor) and 4.8/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: accepts Monero and 5+ years operating. To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.
- Category
- P2P Exchanges
- KYC level
- 3 of 4: ID on risk flag
- Grades
- Privacy 1.9/10, Safety 4.8/10
- Sign-up
- Email required
- Custody
- custodial
- Fees
- No service fee when trading through other users' offers; offer creators pay from 1% + $0.5 down to 0.2% depending on 30-day volume; network fee on external withdrawals
- Limits
- No verification-based limits stated in the FAQ. Escrow holds a deposit for at most 4 hours per trade.
- Jurisdiction
- Seychelles
- Incidents on record
- 0
- Last reviewed
- 22 Oct 2026
Cite this review
NoKYC Score, "Bitpapa review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/bitpapa
Also available as plain text.
What Bitpapa is
Bitpapa is a peer-to-peer marketplace where users trade crypto against local payment methods through an operator-run escrow and a custodial wallet, on the web, in mobile apps and through a Telegram bot. Its FAQ says identity verification is not mandatory and that an unverified account has no restrictions or limits, while the user agreement lets the operator request documents, screenshots or video confirmation and suspend accounts or transactions during a review. Its separate AML policy describes document-based identification of clients, which conflicts with the FAQ. The operator describes itself as incorporated in the Republic of Seychelles and says it has run since 2018.
What Bitpapa offers, and what to watch
2 of 16 privacy and safety features, 4 warnings in its terms.
"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.
Identity
- ID never required No
- No account needed No
- No email needed No
- No phone number Not stated
Payment
- Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
- Accepts Lightning Not stated
- Accepts cash Not stated
Access
- Tor onion address Not stated
- Works without JavaScript Not stated
Trust
- Never holds your funds No
- Refund without ID Not stated
- Escrow it cannot spend alone Not stated
- Open source Not stated
- Independent audit Not stated
- Company named Not stated
- 5+ years operating Yes Has operated continuously for five years or more.
Warnings
- May ask for ID Yes The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.
- Screens deposits Yes Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.
- Holds your funds Yes The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.
- Email required Yes An email address is required to use the service.
- Phone number required Not in terms
- Closed source Not in terms
- Nobody accountable Not in terms
Does Bitpapa require KYC?
- 0 Never
- 1 Not mentioned
- 2 Rare
- 3 On risk flag
- 4 Mandatory
KYC level 3: ID on risk flag. The terms allow funds to be held and identity demanded after an automated risk flag.
FAQ: verification 'is not mandatory' and its absence imposes no limits; user agreement clauses 4.2, 4.3 and 5.6 allow document requests, account blocking and refusal of service without sufficient identification.
How the grades add up
Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.
Privacy
1.9- Starting points 50
- KYC level 3: ID on risk flag -14
- Custodial -3
- Requires email -4
- May request ID -7
- AML screening -7
- Accepts Monero +4
- Total, clamped to 0–100 19
Safety
4.8- Starting points 50
- Custodial -5
- May request ID -4
- AML screening -3
- 5+ years operating +10
- Total, clamped to 0–100 48
Test ledger
Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.
No test transactions published yet
The grades above rest on Bitpapa’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.
Incidents on record
No incidents are on record for Bitpapa. If you have a documented case, report it.
User reviews
Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.
No reviews yet.
Write a review
Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.
Alternatives to Bitpapa
All alternatives →Open-source protocol for non-custodial Monero trading over Tor
Open-source P2P bitcoin trading protocol over Nostr and Lightning hold invoices
P2P fiat on/off-ramp settling through smart-contract escrow and payment-app proofs
Bitpapa vs BisqBitpapa vs HavenoBitpapa vs MostroBitpapa vs Peer
Bitpapa: common questions
Does Bitpapa require KYC?
Bitpapa is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. FAQ: verification 'is not mandatory' and its absence imposes no limits; user agreement clauses 4.2, 4.3 and 5.6 allow document requests, account blocking and refusal of service without sufficient identification.
Is Bitpapa safe to use?
Bitpapa has a Safety grade of 4.8 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 1.9 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.
Is Bitpapa legit?
Bitpapa is a working P2P exchange that has operated since 2018. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.8 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.
Is Bitpapa a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Bitpapa. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.
Do I need an account or email to use Bitpapa?
Email required.
What fees does Bitpapa charge?
No service fee when trading through other users' offers; offer creators pay from 1% + $0.5 down to 0.2% depending on 30-day volume; network fee on external withdrawals. Fees were recorded from Bitpapa's own pages and can change; check before you send.
What are Bitpapa's limits?
No verification-based limits stated in the FAQ. Escrow holds a deposit for at most 4 hours per trade.
Does Bitpapa have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Bitpapa's own pages.
Which cryptocurrencies does Bitpapa support?
Bitpapa supports BTC, ETH, USDT, XMR, USDC.
Is Bitpapa custodial?
Yes. Bitpapa holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.
Can I use Bitpapa over Tor?
Bitpapa does not publish an official onion address.
Listing history
- Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.