Skip to content
NoKYC Score

P2P Exchanges Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

BitValve review

Custodial P2P marketplace with escrow; email-only tier capped at $1,000 a year

  • Company named
  • May ask for ID
  • Screens deposits
  • Holds your funds
ID on risk flag KYC 3 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

1.5/ 10

Poor

Safety

4.3/ 10

Caution

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

BitValve review in short

BitValve is a P2P exchange. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 1.5/10 for privacy (poor) and 4.3/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: company named. To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.

Category
P2P Exchanges
KYC level
3 of 4: ID on risk flag
Grades
Privacy 1.5/10, Safety 4.3/10
Sign-up
Email required
Custody
custodial
Limits
Email only: $1,000 per year. ID plus liveness selfie: $15,000 per year. Proof of address: unlimited.
Jurisdiction
Costa Rica
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "BitValve review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/bitvalve

Also available as plain text.

What BitValve is

BitValve is a peer-to-peer marketplace where trades run through an operator-held escrow and each user gets a custodial wallet for Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum, Tether and the platform token. The terms (effective 1 July 2026) are issued by 3-102-966440 S.R.L, a company incorporated in Costa Rica. Its AML policy sets three levels: email verification alone allows $1,000 of trade volume per year, a government ID with a liveness selfie raises this to $15,000 per year, and proof of address removes the cap. The terms add that verification may be required when creating offers, during disputes and investigations, and is mandatory to fully use the custodial wallet; deposits and withdrawals are screened against sanctions lists.

What BitValve offers, and what to watch

1 of 16 privacy and safety features, 4 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required No
  • No account needed No
  • No email needed No
  • No phone number Not stated

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated
  • Accepts cash Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds No
  • Refund without ID Not stated
  • Escrow it cannot spend alone Not stated
  • Open source Not stated
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Yes The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.
  • Screens deposits Yes Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.
  • Holds your funds Yes The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.
  • Email required Yes An email address is required to use the service.
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does BitValve require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 3: ID on risk flag. The terms allow funds to be held and identity demanded after an automated risk flag.

AML policy: Level 1 (email verification) is limited to $1,000 per year; Level 2 requires a national ID, driving licence, passport or residence permit plus a liveness selfie.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

1.5
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 3: ID on risk flag -14
  • Custodial -3
  • Requires email -4
  • May request ID -7
  • AML screening -7
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 15

Safety

4.3
  • Starting points 50
  • Custodial -5
  • May request ID -4
  • AML screening -3
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 43

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on BitValve’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for BitValve. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to BitValve

All alternatives →

BitValve vs BisqBitValve vs HavenoBitValve vs MostroBitValve vs Peer

BitValve: common questions

Does BitValve require KYC?

BitValve is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. AML policy: Level 1 (email verification) is limited to $1,000 per year; Level 2 requires a national ID, driving licence, passport or residence permit plus a liveness selfie.

Is BitValve safe to use?

BitValve has a Safety grade of 4.3 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 1.5 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is BitValve legit?

BitValve is a working P2P exchange. It publishes the company that runs it, in Costa Rica. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.3 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is BitValve a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for BitValve. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

Do I need an account or email to use BitValve?

Email required.

What are BitValve's limits?

Email only: $1,000 per year. ID plus liveness selfie: $15,000 per year. Proof of address: unlimited.

Does BitValve have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on BitValve's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does BitValve support?

BitValve supports BTC, LTC, ETH, USDT.

Is BitValve custodial?

Yes. BitValve holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

Can I use BitValve over Tor?

BitValve does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.