# Bitpapa review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Bitpapa is a P2P exchange operating since 2018. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 1.9/10 for privacy (poor) and 4.8/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: accepts Monero and 5+ years operating. To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Bitpapa review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/bitpapa

## Key facts
- **Category:** P2P Exchanges
- **KYC level:** 3 of 4: ID on risk flag
- **Grades:** Privacy 1.9/10, Safety 4.8/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Custody:** custodial
- **Fees:** No service fee when trading through other users' offers; offer creators pay from 1% + $0.5 down to 0.2% depending on 30-day volume; network fee on external withdrawals
- **Limits:** No verification-based limits stated in the FAQ. Escrow holds a deposit for at most 4 hours per trade.
- **Jurisdiction:** Seychelles
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://bitpapa.com

## What it is
Bitpapa is a peer-to-peer marketplace where users trade crypto against local payment methods through an operator-run escrow and a custodial wallet, on the web, in mobile apps and through a Telegram bot. Its FAQ says identity verification is not mandatory and that an unverified account has no restrictions or limits, while the user agreement lets the operator request documents, screenshots or video confirmation and suspend accounts or transactions during a review. Its separate AML policy describes document-based identification of clients, which conflicts with the FAQ. The operator describes itself as incorporated in the Republic of Seychelles and says it has run since 2018.

## What the terms say about ID
FAQ: verification 'is not mandatory' and its absence imposes no limits; user agreement clauses 4.2, 4.3 and 5.6 allow document requests, account blocking and refusal of service without sufficient identification.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: no; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: no; Refund without ID: not stated; Escrow it cannot spend alone: not stated; Open source: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: yes; Screens deposits: yes; Holds your funds: yes; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Bitpapa require KYC?
Bitpapa is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. FAQ: verification 'is not mandatory' and its absence imposes no limits; user agreement clauses 4.2, 4.3 and 5.6 allow document requests, account blocking and refusal of service without sufficient identification.

### Is Bitpapa safe to use?
Bitpapa has a Safety grade of 4.8 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 1.9 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Bitpapa legit?
Bitpapa is a working P2P exchange that has operated since 2018. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.8 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Bitpapa a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Bitpapa. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

### Do I need an account or email to use Bitpapa?
Email required.

### What fees does Bitpapa charge?
No service fee when trading through other users' offers; offer creators pay from 1% + $0.5 down to 0.2% depending on 30-day volume; network fee on external withdrawals. Fees were recorded from Bitpapa's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are Bitpapa's limits?
No verification-based limits stated in the FAQ. Escrow holds a deposit for at most 4 hours per trade.

### Does Bitpapa have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Bitpapa's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Bitpapa support?
Bitpapa supports BTC, ETH, USDT, XMR, USDC.

### Is Bitpapa custodial?
Yes. Bitpapa holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

### Can I use Bitpapa over Tor?
Bitpapa does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://bitpapa.com
- https://bitpapa.com/user-agreement
- https://bitpapa.com/aml-policy
- https://bitpapa.com/faq
- https://bitpapa.com/fees

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
