Skip to content
NoKYC Score

P2P Exchanges Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

OpenMonero review

LocalMonero-style P2P Monero marketplace with repeated reported losses

  • Accepts Monero
  • Accepts cash
  • No email needed
  • Holds your funds
  • Nobody accountable
No ID mentioned KYC 1 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

6.6/ 10

Fair

Safety

2.0/ 10

Poor

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

OpenMonero review in short

OpenMonero is a P2P exchange. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.6/10 for privacy (fair) and 2.0/10 for safety (poor). In its favour: no email needed, accepts Monero and accepts cash. To watch: it holds your funds while you use it and has no publicly accountable operator. 2 incidents are on record, the latest from 24 Jul 2026.

Category
P2P Exchanges
KYC level
1 of 4: No ID mentioned
Grades
Privacy 6.6/10, Safety 2.0/10
Sign-up
Email optional
Custody
custodial
Incidents on record
2
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "OpenMonero review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/openmonero

Also available as plain text.

What OpenMonero is

OpenMonero presents itself as a LocalMonero alternative for buying and selling Monero peer to peer. According to that record the operator attributes about 399 XMR of losses to a single long-standing bug, and claims that affected users were refunded could not be verified. Because funds in escrow have been drained more than once, the platform is treated here as holding user funds during trades.

What OpenMonero offers, and what to watch

3 of 16 privacy and safety features, 2 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Not stated
  • No account needed Not stated
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Not stated

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated
  • Accepts cash Yes Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds No
  • Refund without ID Not stated
  • Escrow it cannot spend alone Not stated
  • Open source Not stated
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named No
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Screens deposits Not in terms
  • Holds your funds Yes The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Yes No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

Does OpenMonero require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

The site promotes anonymous trading and mentions no identity verification; no terms were available to review.

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.6
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Accepts Monero +4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 66

Safety

2.0
  • Starting points 50
  • Anonymous operator -4
  • Reported drain of 112 XMR in July 2026 high · unresolved · 91 days ago -18
  • Reported loss of about 87 XMR, the first of four recorded incidents high · unknown · 502 days ago -8
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 20

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on OpenMonero’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

high

Hack or exploit

Reported drain of 112 XMR in July 2026

The directory kycnot.me records that 112 XMR was drained from OpenMonero in July 2026, the most recent of four incidents it lists for the service. The directory keeps the listing in its unreviewed community category with two critical incidents marked as ongoing, and commenters there have called for the service to be blacklisted. Whether the users affected by the July 2026 incident were reimbursed could not be established from the material reviewed.

Unresolved Source: kycnot.me ↗

high

Hack or exploit

Reported loss of about 87 XMR, the first of four recorded incidents

The directory kycnot.me records that about 87 XMR was lost at OpenMonero in June 2025, the first of four security incidents it lists for the service between June 2025 and July 2026; the others involved roughly 40 and 200 XMR. According to that record, the operator attributes around 399 XMR of cumulative losses to a single long-standing bug. Claims that affected users were refunded could not be verified by the directory.

Outcome unknown Source: kycnot.me ↗

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to OpenMonero

All alternatives →

OpenMonero vs BisqOpenMonero vs HavenoOpenMonero vs MostroOpenMonero vs Peer

OpenMonero: common questions

Does OpenMonero require KYC?

OpenMonero is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. The site promotes anonymous trading and mentions no identity verification; no terms were available to review.

Is OpenMonero safe to use?

OpenMonero has a Safety grade of 2.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.6 out of 10. There are 2 incidents on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is OpenMonero legit?

OpenMonero is a working P2P exchange. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 2.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is OpenMonero a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. OpenMonero has 2 incidents on record, 2 not resolved, the latest: "Reported drain of 112 XMR in July 2026". Each is listed on this page with its source.

Do I need an account or email to use OpenMonero?

Email optional.

Does OpenMonero have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on OpenMonero's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does OpenMonero support?

OpenMonero supports XMR, and fiat payments in USD, EUR.

Is OpenMonero custodial?

Yes. OpenMonero holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

Can I use OpenMonero over Tor?

OpenMonero does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.
  • Incident recorded: Reported loss of about 87 XMR, the first of four recorded incidents
  • Incident recorded: Reported drain of 112 XMR in July 2026