# Safing SPN review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Safing SPN is a VPN. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 7.4/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.3/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no email needed, accepts Monero and accepts cash. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Safing SPN review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/safing-spn

## Key facts
- **Category:** VPNs
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 7.4/10, Safety 6.3/10
- **Sign-up:** Email optional
- **Fees:** Portmaster Pro (includes SPN) listed at €8/month or €80/year when checked
- **Jurisdiction:** Austria
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://safing.io/spn

## What it is
SPN (Safing Privacy Network) sends each connection through its own multi-hop, onion-encrypted path and is included in the paid Portmaster Pro plan. The terms name Safing ICS Technologies GmbH, a company incorporated in Austria, as the contracting party and state that browsing history, traffic destinations, IP addresses and DNS queries are not logged; the about page says Portmaster and SPN are now developed and operated by IVPN. An account with a username and password is required: the privacy policy says the username need not be a real name and that an email address is only required for some payment methods. Payment is accepted by card, PayPal, posted cash, Bitcoin and Monero.

## What the terms say about ID
The terms require a user account but ask for no identity documents; the privacy policy lists a self-chosen user name ("not your real name") and an email address "required for some payment methods".

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: yes; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: yes
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: yes; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Safing SPN require KYC?
Safing SPN is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. The terms require a user account but ask for no identity documents; the privacy policy lists a self-chosen user name ("not your real name") and an email address "required for some payment methods".

### Is Safing SPN safe to use?
Safing SPN has a Safety grade of 6.3 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Safing SPN legit?
Safing SPN is a working VPN. It publishes the company that runs it, in Austria. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.3 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Safing SPN a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Safing SPN.

### Do I need an account or email to use Safing SPN?
Email optional.

### What fees does Safing SPN charge?
Portmaster Pro (includes SPN) listed at €8/month or €80/year when checked. Fees were recorded from Safing SPN's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does Safing SPN have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Safing SPN's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Safing SPN support?
Safing SPN supports BTC, XMR, and fiat payments in EUR.

### Can I use Safing SPN over Tor?
Safing SPN does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://safing.io/spn
- https://safing.io/terms
- https://safing.io/privacy
- https://safing.io/pricing
- https://safing.io/about

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
