Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

Muun is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.8/10 for privacy (fair) and 7.5/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: accepts Lightning, never holds your funds and open source. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • Never holds your funds

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Open source

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • Accepts Lightning

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Before you use it

No warning flags found in the recorded terms. This is not a guarantee of safety.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About Muun

Muun is a self-custodial mobile wallet for Bitcoin and Lightning from Muun Wallet Inc., which its terms say is incorporated in the Cayman Islands. The homepage describes a 2-of-2 multisig design in which the phone holds one key and an emergency kit holds both, so neither key alone can spend; Lightning payments are made from the same on-chain balance. Security setup uses an email, password and recovery code; whether an email can be skipped was not confirmed on the pages read. The terms say Muun's software is open source and published in its repositories, and that Muun may suspend or restrict access if it believes the services are being misused. The privacy policy says the app may request personal information such as name, email or phone number and uses Firebase Analytics and crash logging.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "Muun review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/muun-wallet

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

4 / 13 features confirmed0 warnings in the recorded terms

Identity

0 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededNot stated

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededNot stated

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberNot stated

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

1 / 2 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningYes

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

3 / 5 confirmed
  • Never holds your fundsYes

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Open sourceYes

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedYes

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingNot stated

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

0 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Screens depositsNot in terms

    Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.

  • Holds your fundsNot in terms

    The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.

  • Email requiredNot in terms

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceNot in terms

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does Muun require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in Muun's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • Account required
  • Email may be asked
  • Phone may be asked
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

Terms describe self-custodial wallet software and contain no identity verification requirement; Muun 'may suspend or restrict access if we reasonably believe the Services are being misused'.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.8/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Accepts Lightning +1
  • Open source +2
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 68

Safety

7.5/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 75

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Muun’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for Muun. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used Muun?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Muun

All alternatives →

Muun vs ElectrumMuun vs PhoenixMuun vs Wasabi WalletMuun vs ZEUS

Muun: common questions

Does Muun require KYC?

Muun is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Terms describe self-custodial wallet software and contain no identity verification requirement; Muun 'may suspend or restrict access if we reasonably believe the Services are being misused'.

Is Muun safe to use?

Muun has a Safety grade of 7.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.8 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Muun legit?

Muun is a working wallet. It publishes the company that runs it, in Cayman Islands. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Muun a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Muun.

Does Muun have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Muun's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Muun support?

Muun supports BTC.

Can I use Muun over Tor?

Muun does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.