Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

Lightning Loop is a swap service operating since 2019. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 7.8/10 for privacy (strong) and 8.0/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • Never holds your funds

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Open source

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • No account needed

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

Before you use it

No warning flags found in the recorded terms. This is not a guarantee of safety.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About Lightning Loop

Lightning Loop is a service from Lightning Labs that lets a Lightning node operator swap off-chain balance to an on-chain address (Loop Out) or refill channels from on-chain bitcoin (Loop In) using non-custodial submarine swaps. It is used through the open-source loop client or Lightning Terminal alongside an LND node, and authenticates with an L402 token bought for 1 satoshi on first use rather than an account. The fee documentation lists a Loop service fee that depends on on-chain fee conditions, the miner fees, and a 30,000-sat prepayment on Loop Out that is forfeited if the swap is not completed. No identity requirement appears in the documentation read; no separate Loop terms of service were found.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "Lightning Loop review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/lightning-loop

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

7 / 15 features confirmed0 warnings in the recorded terms

Identity

3 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededYes

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededYes

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberYes

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

1 / 2 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningYes

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

3 / 7 confirmed
  • Never holds your fundsYes

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Own liquidityNot stated

    Fills orders from its own reserves, so no upstream exchange screens your deposit.

  • Refund without IDNot stated

    The terms commit to refunding a stopped order without identity documents.

  • Open sourceYes

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedNot stated

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingYes

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

0 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Screens depositsNot in terms

    Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.

  • Passes orders to partnersNot in terms

    Orders go to upstream exchanges that apply their own screening.

  • Holds your fundsNot in terms

    The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.

  • Email requiredNot in terms

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceNot in terms

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does Lightning Loop require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in Lightning Loop's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • No account needed
  • No email
  • No phone number
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

The official Loop documentation describes L402 token authentication and no account or identity step; no Loop terms of service were found to confirm the policy (not confirmed).

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

7.8/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • No registration +6
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Accepts Lightning +1
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Open source +2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 78

Safety

8.0/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Open source +8
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 80

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Lightning Loop’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for Lightning Loop. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used Lightning Loop?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Lightning Loop

All alternatives →

Lightning Loop vs GhostSwapLightning Loop vs ChainflipLightning Loop vs Swap MarketLightning Loop vs eigenwallet

Lightning Loop: common questions

Does Lightning Loop require KYC?

Lightning Loop is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. The official Loop documentation describes L402 token authentication and no account or identity step; no Loop terms of service were found to confirm the policy (not confirmed).

Is Lightning Loop safe to use?

Lightning Loop has a Safety grade of 8.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.8 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Lightning Loop legit?

Lightning Loop is a working swap service that has operated since 2019. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 8.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Lightning Loop a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Lightning Loop.

Do I need an account or email to use Lightning Loop?

No account needed.

What fees does Lightning Loop charge?

Loop service fee varying with on-chain conditions, plus on-chain and routing fees; 30,000-sat no-show prepayment on Loop Out. Fees were recorded from Lightning Loop's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does Lightning Loop have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Lightning Loop's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Lightning Loop support?

Lightning Loop supports BTC.

Is Lightning Loop custodial?

No. Lightning Loop is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

Can I use Lightning Loop over Tor?

Lightning Loop does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.