Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

Coinsnap is a payment gateway. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.2/10 for privacy (fair) and 6.7/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: accepts Lightning, never holds your funds and company named. To watch: it requires an email address. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • Never holds your funds

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Accepts Lightning

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

  • Company named

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

Before you use it

  • Email required

    An email address is required to use the service.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About Coinsnap

Coinsnap provides Bitcoin (on-chain and Lightning) payment software for merchants: plugins for WooCommerce, Shopify and other shop systems, a web point of sale, payment links, invoices and a self-custodial wallet. The terms state payments go directly from the payer's wallet to a wallet the merchant controls and that Coinsnap never receives or holds the bitcoin; it charges a 1% fee against prepaid Coinsnap credit instead. Registration needs only an email address with a one-time code. Coinsnap says it does not require identification of the payer for standard payments; optional fiat conversion and bank payout run through third-party providers that apply their own KYC. The operator is Onlineshop24 DOO in Serbia.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "Coinsnap review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/coinsnap

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

3 / 13 features confirmed1 warning in the recorded terms

Identity

0 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededNo

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededNo

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberNot stated

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

1 / 2 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningYes

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

2 / 5 confirmed
  • Never holds your fundsYes

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Open sourceNot stated

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedYes

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingNot stated

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

1 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Screens depositsNot in terms

    Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.

  • Holds your fundsNot in terms

    The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.

  • Email requiredYes

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceNot in terms

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does Coinsnap require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in Coinsnap's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • Account required
  • Email may be asked
  • Phone may be asked
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

FAQ: "all you need is a valid email address" to register; terms say Coinsnap does not require identification of the payer for standard self-custodial payments (third-party fiat services apply their own KYC).

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.2/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Accepts Lightning +1
  • Requires email -4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 62

Safety

6.7/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 67

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Coinsnap’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for Coinsnap. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used Coinsnap?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Coinsnap

All alternatives →

Coinsnap vs BitcartCoinsnap vs MoneroPayCoinsnap vs SHKeeperCoinsnap vs Bitrequest

Coinsnap: common questions

Does Coinsnap require KYC?

Coinsnap is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. FAQ: "all you need is a valid email address" to register; terms say Coinsnap does not require identification of the payer for standard self-custodial payments (third-party fiat services apply their own KYC).

Is Coinsnap safe to use?

Coinsnap has a Safety grade of 6.7 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Coinsnap legit?

Coinsnap is a working payment gateway. It publishes the company that runs it, in Serbia. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.7 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Coinsnap a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Coinsnap.

Do I need an account or email to use Coinsnap?

Email required.

What fees does Coinsnap charge?

1% transaction fee, charged against prepaid Coinsnap credit. Fees were recorded from Coinsnap's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does Coinsnap have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Coinsnap's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Coinsnap support?

Coinsnap supports BTC.

Is Coinsnap custodial?

No. Coinsnap is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

Can I use Coinsnap over Tor?

Coinsnap does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.