Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

CoinGate is a payment gateway operating since 2014. Its terms put it at KYC level 4 of 4: ID mandatory. NoKYC Score grades it 0.0/10 for privacy (poor) and 5.0/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: accepts Lightning, company named and 5+ years operating. To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • Accepts Lightning

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

  • Company named

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operating

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Before you use it

  • May ask for ID

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Screens deposits

    Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.

  • Holds your funds

    The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About CoinGate

CoinGate is a hosted crypto payment processor for merchants, operating since 2014, offering checkout, invoicing, payment links, payouts, refunds and settlement in crypto or EUR. It supports Bitcoin including Lightning, Ethereum, Litecoin, Solana, USDC, Dogecoin, Tron and others. The operator, UAB "Decentralized" in Lithuania, holds a MiCA licence and a payment institution licence and is supervised for AML. Its general terms require customers to provide identification and risk-assessment documents, allow requests for beneficial-owner and source-of-funds information at any time, and say transactions are monitored and may be suspended. Shoppers pay without a CoinGate account. Standard pricing is a 1% processing fee.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "CoinGate review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/coingate

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

3 / 13 features confirmed4 warnings in the recorded terms

Identity

0 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNo

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededNot stated

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededNot stated

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberNot stated

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

1 / 2 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningYes

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

2 / 5 confirmed
  • Never holds your fundsNo

    The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.

  • Open sourceNo

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedYes

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingYes

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

4 flagged
  • May ask for IDYes

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Screens depositsYes

    Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.

  • Holds your fundsYes

    The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.

  • Email requiredNot in terms

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceYes

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does CoinGate require KYC?

Level 4 of 4

ID mandatory

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

Yes. CoinGate requires identity verification from every user. Checked against its own terms.

  • Account required
  • Email may be asked
  • Phone may be asked
  • ID required

KYC level 4: ID mandatory. Identity verification is required to use the service.

General terms: "You must provide all required information and documents for identification and risk assessment"; otherwise "the Services will be unavailable to You."

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

0.0/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 4: ID mandatory -32
  • Custodial -3
  • Closed source -2
  • Accepts Lightning +1
  • May request ID -7
  • AML screening -7
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 0

Safety

5.0/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Custodial -5
  • Closed source -3
  • May request ID -4
  • AML screening -3
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 50

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on CoinGate’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for CoinGate. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used CoinGate?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to CoinGate

All alternatives →

CoinGate vs BitcartCoinGate vs MoneroPayCoinGate vs SHKeeperCoinGate vs Bitrequest

CoinGate: common questions

Does CoinGate require KYC?

CoinGate is rated KYC level 4 of 4 on this site: ID mandatory. General terms: "You must provide all required information and documents for identification and risk assessment"; otherwise "the Services will be unavailable to You."

Is CoinGate safe to use?

CoinGate has a Safety grade of 5.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 0.0 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is CoinGate legit?

CoinGate is a working payment gateway that has operated since 2014. It publishes the company that runs it, in Lithuania. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is CoinGate a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for CoinGate. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

What fees does CoinGate charge?

1% payment processing fee on the Standard plan; crypto payouts 0.50 EUR + 0.5%. Fees were recorded from CoinGate's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does CoinGate have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on CoinGate's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does CoinGate support?

CoinGate supports BTC, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDC, DOGE, TRX, and fiat payments in EUR.

Is CoinGate custodial?

Yes. CoinGate holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

Can I use CoinGate over Tor?

CoinGate does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.