# CoinGate review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> CoinGate is a payment gateway operating since 2014. Its terms put it at KYC level 4 of 4: ID mandatory. NoKYC Score grades it 0.0/10 for privacy (poor) and 5.0/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: accepts Lightning, company named and 5+ years operating. To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "CoinGate review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/coingate

## Key facts
- **Category:** Payment Gateways
- **KYC level:** 4 of 4: ID mandatory
- **Grades:** Privacy 0.0/10, Safety 5.0/10
- **Custody:** custodial
- **Fees:** 1% payment processing fee on the Standard plan; crypto payouts 0.50 EUR + 0.5%
- **Jurisdiction:** Lithuania
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 23 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://coingate.com

## What it is
CoinGate is a hosted crypto payment processor for merchants, operating since 2014, offering checkout, invoicing, payment links, payouts, refunds and settlement in crypto or EUR. It supports Bitcoin including Lightning, Ethereum, Litecoin, Solana, USDC, Dogecoin, Tron and others. The operator, UAB "Decentralized" in Lithuania, holds a MiCA licence and a payment institution licence and is supervised for AML. Its general terms require customers to provide identification and risk-assessment documents, allow requests for beneficial-owner and source-of-funds information at any time, and say transactions are monitored and may be suspended. Shoppers pay without a CoinGate account. Standard pricing is a 1% processing fee.

## What the terms say about ID
General terms: "You must provide all required information and documents for identification and risk assessment"; otherwise "the Services will be unavailable to You."

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: no; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: not stated; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: yes
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: no; Open source: no; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: yes; Screens deposits: yes; Holds your funds: yes; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: yes; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does CoinGate require KYC?
CoinGate is rated KYC level 4 of 4 on this site: ID mandatory. General terms: "You must provide all required information and documents for identification and risk assessment"; otherwise "the Services will be unavailable to You."

### Is CoinGate safe to use?
CoinGate has a Safety grade of 5.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 0.0 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is CoinGate legit?
CoinGate is a working payment gateway that has operated since 2014. It publishes the company that runs it, in Lithuania. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is CoinGate a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for CoinGate. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

### What fees does CoinGate charge?
1% payment processing fee on the Standard plan; crypto payouts 0.50 EUR + 0.5%. Fees were recorded from CoinGate's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does CoinGate have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on CoinGate's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does CoinGate support?
CoinGate supports BTC, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDC, DOGE, TRX, and fiat payments in EUR.

### Is CoinGate custodial?
Yes. CoinGate holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

### Can I use CoinGate over Tor?
CoinGate does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://coingate.com/legal-documents
- https://coingate.com/policy/general-terms-and-conditions
- https://coingate.com/policy/special-terms-and-conditions-for-crypto-assets-payment-processing
- https://coingate.com/about-us
- https://coingate.com/pricing
- https://coingate.com/supported-currencies

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
