Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Wallets Since 2019 Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

ZEUS review

Open-source self-custodial Bitcoin and Lightning wallet and remote node manager

  • No account needed
  • Never holds your funds
  • Open source
  • Accepts Lightning
  • No email needed
  • 5+ years operating
ID never required KYC 0 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

8.6/ 10

Excellent

Safety

8.0/ 10

Strong

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

ZEUS review in short

ZEUS is a wallet operating since 2019. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 8.6/10 for privacy (excellent) and 8.0/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Category
Wallets
KYC level
0 of 4: ID never required
Grades
Privacy 8.6/10, Safety 8.0/10
Sign-up
No account needed
Custody
non-custodial
Fees
Olympus LSP just-in-time channels: 10,000 sat per new channel up to 1M sat, 1% for 1M to 5M sat, 2 sat per wrapped invoice without a channel open (low-fee conditions). Swaps carry a service fee plus network fee shown before confirming. ZEUS Pay Zaplocker addresses: no fee.
Limits
Swaps have provider-set minimum and maximum amounts.
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "ZEUS review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/zeus

Also available as plain text.

What ZEUS is

ZEUS is a mobile Bitcoin and Lightning app that can run a node on the phone (Embedded LND or LDK Node) or connect to and manage a remote node the user operates, including over Tor. Its documentation describes it as self-custodial, with no KYC, and fully open source under AGPLv3. The app is published by Atlas 21 Inc., whose privacy notice says it collects no personal information and uses no tracking, though IP addresses may be logged when its remote services are used. Those optional services, all run by the developer, include the Olympus LSP for just-in-time and pre-purchased channels, submarine swaps between on-chain and Lightning (built on a Boltz backend and described as non-custodial), and ZEUS Pay Lightning addresses. Optional Cashu ecash wallets are custodial: funds sit with the chosen mint, which could take them. There is no built-in purchase of bitcoin. The company's jurisdiction is not stated on the official pages.

What ZEUS offers, and what to watch

8 of 13 privacy and safety features, 0 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Yes The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Yes Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds Yes The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.
  • Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Not stated
  • 5+ years operating Yes Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Screens deposits Not in terms
  • Holds your funds Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does ZEUS require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 0: ID never required. The terms rule out identity checks, or the design makes them impossible.

Self-custodial app with no account; the documentation states no KYC and the privacy notice says no personal information is collected. Optional Cashu ecash relies on custodial third-party mints.

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

8.6
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 0: ID never required +20
  • No registration +6
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Accepts Lightning +1
  • Open source +2
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 86

Safety

8.0
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Non-custodial +12
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 80

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on ZEUS’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for ZEUS. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to ZEUS

All alternatives →

ZEUS vs ElectrumZEUS vs PhoenixZEUS vs Wasabi WalletZEUS vs Cake Wallet

ZEUS: common questions

Does ZEUS require KYC?

ZEUS is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Self-custodial app with no account; the documentation states no KYC and the privacy notice says no personal information is collected. Optional Cashu ecash relies on custodial third-party mints.

Is ZEUS safe to use?

ZEUS has a Safety grade of 8.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 8.6 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is ZEUS legit?

ZEUS is a working wallet that has operated since 2019. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 8.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is ZEUS a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for ZEUS.

Do I need an account or email to use ZEUS?

No account needed.

What fees does ZEUS charge?

Olympus LSP just-in-time channels: 10,000 sat per new channel up to 1M sat, 1% for 1M to 5M sat, 2 sat per wrapped invoice without a channel open (low-fee conditions). Swaps carry a service fee plus network fee shown before confirming. ZEUS Pay Zaplocker addresses: no fee. Fees were recorded from ZEUS's own pages and can change; check before you send.

What are ZEUS's limits?

Swaps have provider-set minimum and maximum amounts.

Does ZEUS have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on ZEUS's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does ZEUS support?

ZEUS supports BTC.

Can I use ZEUS over Tor?

ZEUS does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added as unrated. Not yet confirmed against the service's own pages.