# ZEUS review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> ZEUS is a wallet operating since 2019. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 8.6/10 for privacy (excellent) and 8.0/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "ZEUS review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/zeus

## Key facts
- **Category:** Wallets
- **KYC level:** 0 of 4: ID never required
- **Grades:** Privacy 8.6/10, Safety 8.0/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Fees:** Olympus LSP just-in-time channels: 10,000 sat per new channel up to 1M sat, 1% for 1M to 5M sat, 2 sat per wrapped invoice without a channel open (low-fee conditions). Swaps carry a service fee plus network fee shown before confirming. ZEUS Pay Zaplocker addresses: no fee.
- **Limits:** Swaps have provider-set minimum and maximum amounts.
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://zeusln.com

## What it is
ZEUS is a mobile Bitcoin and Lightning app that can run a node on the phone (Embedded LND or LDK Node) or connect to and manage a remote node the user operates, including over Tor. Its documentation describes it as self-custodial, with no KYC, and fully open source under AGPLv3. The app is published by Atlas 21 Inc., whose privacy notice says it collects no personal information and uses no tracking, though IP addresses may be logged when its remote services are used. Those optional services, all run by the developer, include the Olympus LSP for just-in-time and pre-purchased channels, submarine swaps between on-chain and Lightning (built on a Boltz backend and described as non-custodial), and ZEUS Pay Lightning addresses. Optional Cashu ecash wallets are custodial: funds sit with the chosen mint, which could take them. There is no built-in purchase of bitcoin. The company's jurisdiction is not stated on the official pages.

## What the terms say about ID
Self-custodial app with no account; the documentation states no KYC and the privacy notice says no personal information is collected. Optional Cashu ecash relies on custodial third-party mints.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: yes; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: yes
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Open source: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does ZEUS require KYC?
ZEUS is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Self-custodial app with no account; the documentation states no KYC and the privacy notice says no personal information is collected. Optional Cashu ecash relies on custodial third-party mints.

### Is ZEUS safe to use?
ZEUS has a Safety grade of 8.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 8.6 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is ZEUS legit?
ZEUS is a working wallet that has operated since 2019. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 8.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is ZEUS a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for ZEUS.

### Do I need an account or email to use ZEUS?
No account needed.

### What fees does ZEUS charge?
Olympus LSP just-in-time channels: 10,000 sat per new channel up to 1M sat, 1% for 1M to 5M sat, 2 sat per wrapped invoice without a channel open (low-fee conditions). Swaps carry a service fee plus network fee shown before confirming. ZEUS Pay Zaplocker addresses: no fee. Fees were recorded from ZEUS's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are ZEUS's limits?
Swaps have provider-set minimum and maximum amounts.

### Does ZEUS have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on ZEUS's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does ZEUS support?
ZEUS supports BTC.

### Can I use ZEUS over Tor?
ZEUS does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://zeusln.com/
- https://zeusln.com/privacy-policy
- https://zeusln.com/about
- https://docs.zeusln.app/
- https://docs.zeusln.app/llms-full.txt
- https://docs.zeusln.app/lsp/fees
- https://docs.zeusln.app/swaps/intro
- https://docs.zeusln.app/swaps/api
- https://docs.zeusln.app/cashu
- https://docs.zeusln.app/lightning-address/zaplocker
- https://github.com/ZeusLN/zeus

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
