Skip to content

The overview

The essentials, at a glance.

OVPN is a VPN. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.5/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.2/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no email needed, no-logs policy and company named. To watch: it is closed source. No incidents are on record.

What stands out

  • No email needed

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No-logs policy

    States that connection or activity logs are not kept.

  • Company named

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

Before you use it

  • Closed source

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

0 incidents on record

No test transactions published yet.

About OVPN

OVPN is a VPN service now run by OVPN Inc., which its privacy notice says acquired OVPN in 2025; the terms use a US arbitration clause under the Federal Arbitration Act. Registration needs a username and password, and the privacy notice says an email address is collected for billing only "if provided". The support centre lists credit cards, PayPal and cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin and Ethereum. A January 2024 blog post announced that cash and Monero were removed as payment methods from 9 February. The privacy notice says the VPN does not log IP addresses or other identifiers together with browsing activity, and WireGuard IPs are held in memory only for the session.

Cite this review or read as plain text

NoKYC Score, "OVPN review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/ovpn

Open plain-text review ↗

The feature review

Privacy, without the guesswork.

3 / 14 features confirmed1 warning in the recorded terms

Identity

1 / 4 confirmed
  • ID never requiredNot stated

    The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.

  • No account neededNot stated

    Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.

  • No email neededYes

    An email address is not required to sign up or use it.

  • No phone numberNot stated

    A phone number is never required.

Payment

0 / 3 confirmed
  • Accepts MoneroNot stated

    Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.

  • Accepts LightningNot stated

    Bitcoin Lightning payments: fast, cheap and more private than on-chain.

  • Accepts cashNot stated

    Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

0 / 2 confirmed
  • Tor onion addressNot stated

    An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.

  • Works without JavaScriptNot stated

    Core functions work with scripts disabled, as in Tor Browser on its safest setting.

Trust

2 / 5 confirmed
  • Open sourceNo

    The code that matters is public and can be inspected.

  • No-logs policyYes

    States that connection or activity logs are not kept.

  • Independent auditNot stated

    A third party audited the code or the no-logs claim, and the report is public.

  • Company namedYes

    The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.

  • 5+ years operatingNot stated

    Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

1 flagged
  • May ask for IDNot in terms

    The terms reserve the right to demand identity documents, often after a risk flag.

  • Email requiredNot in terms

    An email address is required to use the service.

  • Phone number requiredNot in terms

    A phone number is required to use the service.

  • Closed sourceYes

    The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.

  • Nobody accountableNot in terms

    No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

“Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not say. Expand a group to see every check.

Identity requirements

Does OVPN require KYC?

Level 1 of 4

No ID mentioned

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

No ID requirement appears anywhere in OVPN's terms or documentation. Checked against its own terms.

  • Account required
  • No email
  • Phone may be asked
  • No ID documents

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

No identity documents are mentioned in the terms or privacy notice; accounts need only a username and password.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

Transparent by design

Every point, explained.

Methodology

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.5/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • No email needed +3
  • No-logs policy +2
  • Closed source -2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 65

Safety

5.2/ 10View calculation
  • Starting points 50
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Closed source -3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 52

Evidence, not promises

Test ledger 0

Published test transactions, with the route, amount and outcome available to inspect.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on OVPN’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

The track record

Incidents 0

Report an incident

No incidents on record

We have no documented cases for OVPN. An empty record does not guarantee a service is risk-free.

Community experience

What users are saying 0

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

Have you used OVPN?

Be the first to share your experience. Useful details help the next person decide.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to OVPN

All alternatives →

OVPN vs WindscribeOVPN vs Mullvad VPNOVPN vs AzireVPNOVPN vs Proton VPN

OVPN: common questions

Does OVPN require KYC?

OVPN is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity documents are mentioned in the terms or privacy notice; accounts need only a username and password.

Is OVPN safe to use?

OVPN has a Safety grade of 5.2 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.5 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is OVPN legit?

OVPN is a working VPN. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.2 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is OVPN a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for OVPN.

Do I need an account or email to use OVPN?

Email optional.

What fees does OVPN charge?

Monthly, yearly and three-year plans; crypto purchases are not refunded per the support centre. Fees were recorded from OVPN's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does OVPN have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on OVPN's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does OVPN support?

OVPN supports BTC, ETH, and fiat payments in EUR, USD.

Can I use OVPN over Tor?

OVPN does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.