# OVPN review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> OVPN is a VPN. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.5/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.2/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no email needed, no-logs policy and company named. To watch: it is closed source. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "OVPN review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/ovpn

## Key facts
- **Category:** VPNs
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.5/10, Safety 5.2/10
- **Sign-up:** Email optional
- **Fees:** Monthly, yearly and three-year plans; crypto purchases are not refunded per the support centre
- **Jurisdiction:** United States
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 23 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://www.ovpn.com

## What it is
OVPN is a VPN service now run by OVPN Inc., which its privacy notice says acquired OVPN in 2025; the terms use a US arbitration clause under the Federal Arbitration Act. Registration needs a username and password, and the privacy notice says an email address is collected for billing only "if provided". The support centre lists credit cards, PayPal and cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin and Ethereum. A January 2024 blog post announced that cash and Monero were removed as payment methods from 9 February. The privacy notice says the VPN does not log IP addresses or other identifiers together with browsing activity, and WireGuard IPs are held in memory only for the session.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity documents are mentioned in the terms or privacy notice; accounts need only a username and password.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: yes; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: no; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: yes; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does OVPN require KYC?
OVPN is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity documents are mentioned in the terms or privacy notice; accounts need only a username and password.

### Is OVPN safe to use?
OVPN has a Safety grade of 5.2 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.5 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is OVPN legit?
OVPN is a working VPN. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.2 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is OVPN a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for OVPN.

### Do I need an account or email to use OVPN?
Email optional.

### What fees does OVPN charge?
Monthly, yearly and three-year plans; crypto purchases are not refunded per the support centre. Fees were recorded from OVPN's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does OVPN have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on OVPN's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does OVPN support?
OVPN supports BTC, ETH, and fiat payments in EUR, USD.

### Can I use OVPN over Tor?
OVPN does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://www.ovpn.com/en
- https://www.ovpn.com/en/tos
- https://www.ovpn.com/en/privacy-notice
- https://support.ovpn.com/hc/en-us/articles/46236309981843-What-payment-methods-does-OVPN-accept
- https://www.ovpn.com/en/blog/update-to-accepted-payment-options

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
