Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Instant Swaps Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

OctoSwap review

Instant swap of 500+ coins with no registration; terms commit to returning failed swaps

  • No account needed
  • Accepts Monero
  • Refund without ID
  • Screens deposits
  • Holds your funds
  • Closed source
No ID mentioned KYC 1 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

6.9/ 10

Fair

Safety

4.6/ 10

Caution

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

OctoSwap review in short

OctoSwap is a swap service. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.9/10 for privacy (fair) and 4.6/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. To watch: it screens deposits, holds your funds while you use it and is closed source. No incidents are on record.

Category
Instant Swaps
KYC level
1 of 4: No ID mentioned
Grades
Privacy 6.9/10, Safety 4.6/10
Sign-up
No account needed
Custody
custodial
Fees
Fees included in the displayed rate (terms s.3.1)
Limits
Per-pair minimum and maximum shown in the form
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "OctoSwap review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/octoswap

Also available as plain text.

What OctoSwap is

OctoSwap is an instant swap service listing more than 500 coins, including XMR, with floating rates. An optional account gives up to 0.3% cashback. Its terms say it works without registration or personal data, and that a swap which cannot be completed is returned to the address the user gave. They also say user funds are "not held or frozen". The service uses its own risk-assessment mechanisms, described as protecting its infrastructure rather than restricting users. No identity-verification clause was found. No operating company or jurisdiction is named, and where liquidity comes from is not stated.

What OctoSwap offers, and what to watch

5 of 15 privacy and safety features, 4 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Not stated
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds No
  • Own liquidity Not stated
  • Refund without ID Yes The terms commit to refunding a stopped order without identity documents.
  • Open source No
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named No
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Screens deposits Yes Deposits are scored by blockchain analytics; a flag can freeze them.
  • Passes orders to partners Not in terms
  • Holds your funds Yes The operator controls user funds while they are on the platform.
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Yes The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.
  • Nobody accountable Yes No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

Does OctoSwap require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

Terms s.2.1: service is provided "without requiring registration or the submission of personal data"; s.3.5: "User funds are not held or frozen". No ID clause found.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.9
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • No registration +6
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Accepts Monero +4
  • Refund without ID +2
  • AML screening -7
  • Closed source -2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 69

Safety

4.6
  • Starting points 50
  • Refund without ID +6
  • AML screening -3
  • Closed source -3
  • Anonymous operator -4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 46

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on OctoSwap’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for OctoSwap. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to OctoSwap

All alternatives →

OctoSwap vs GhostSwapOctoSwap vs ChainflipOctoSwap vs Swap MarketOctoSwap vs eigenwallet

OctoSwap: common questions

Does OctoSwap require KYC?

OctoSwap is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Terms s.2.1: service is provided "without requiring registration or the submission of personal data"; s.3.5: "User funds are not held or frozen". No ID clause found.

Is OctoSwap safe to use?

OctoSwap has a Safety grade of 4.6 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.9 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is OctoSwap legit?

OctoSwap is a working swap service. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.6 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is OctoSwap a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for OctoSwap.

Do I need an account or email to use OctoSwap?

No account needed.

What fees does OctoSwap charge?

Fees included in the displayed rate (terms s.3.1). Fees were recorded from OctoSwap's own pages and can change; check before you send.

What are OctoSwap's limits?

Per-pair minimum and maximum shown in the form.

Does OctoSwap have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on OctoSwap's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does OctoSwap support?

OctoSwap supports BTC, ETH, XMR, BCH.

Is OctoSwap custodial?

Yes. OctoSwap holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

Can I use OctoSwap over Tor?

OctoSwap does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.