Skip to content
NoKYC Score

P2P Exchanges Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

Hodl Hodl review

Web-based P2P bitcoin trading with 2-of-3 multisig escrow

  • Never holds your funds
  • Escrow it cannot spend alone
  • Accepts cash
  • Company named
  • Email required
  • Closed source
No ID mentioned KYC 1 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

6.0/ 10

Fair

Safety

7.0/ 10

Strong

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

Hodl Hodl review in short

Hodl Hodl is a P2P exchange. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.0/10 for privacy (fair) and 7.0/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no phone number, accepts cash and never holds your funds. To watch: it requires an email address and is closed source. One incident is on record, the latest from 18 Sep 2026.

Category
P2P Exchanges
KYC level
1 of 4: No ID mentioned
Grades
Privacy 6.0/10, Safety 7.0/10
Sign-up
Email required
Custody
non-custodial
Fees
0.75% per party (up to 1.5% per trade); 0.5% for referred users
Limits
Minimum 0.00025 BTC; maximum 1, 2 or 5 BTC per trade by account level
Incidents on record
1
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "Hodl Hodl review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/hodlhodl

Also available as plain text.

What Hodl Hodl is

Hodl Hodl is a web-based peer-to-peer bitcoin marketplace operated by Hodlex Ltd. Bitcoin for each trade is locked in a 2-of-3 multisignature escrow address in which the platform holds one key, so it does not take custody of user balances. Registration requires an email address and password. The FAQ describes trades as taking place without KYC or AML, charges 0.75% to each party, and sets a minimum trade of 0.00025 BTC with maximum single-trade sizes of 1, 2 or 5 BTC depending on account level.

What Hodl Hodl offers, and what to watch

6 of 16 privacy and safety features, 2 warnings in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Not stated
  • No account needed No
  • No email needed No
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Not stated
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated
  • Accepts cash Yes Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds Yes The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.
  • Refund without ID Not stated
  • Escrow it cannot spend alone Yes Trades are protected by multisig or hold-invoice escrow.
  • Open source No
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
  • 5+ years operating Yes Has operated continuously for five years or more.

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Screens deposits Not in terms
  • Holds your funds Not in terms
  • Email required Yes An email address is required to use the service.
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Yes The code is not public, so its behaviour cannot be checked.
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does Hodl Hodl require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

The FAQ describes trades as taking place without KYC or AML checks; an email address is required to register.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.0
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • No phone needed +1
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Requires email -4
  • Closed source -2
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 60

Safety

7.0
  • Starting points 50
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Multisig or hold-invoice escrow +6
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Closed source -3
  • 5+ years operating +10
  • Announced screening of all incoming bitcoin, described as "security scoring" medium · unresolved · 35 days ago -10
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 70

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Hodl Hodl’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

medium

Policy change

Announced screening of all incoming bitcoin, described as "security scoring"

The directory kycnot.me records that on 18 September 2026 Hodl Hodl announced on X that it would check every bitcoin sent to its escrow system. According to that record the platform described the measure as security scoring and denied that it is an AML process, while some users reported being placed in what the service privately called an AML review. The platform's FAQ, read during this review, still describes trades as taking place without KYC or AML.

Unresolved Source: kycnot.me ↗

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Hodl Hodl

All alternatives →

Hodl Hodl vs BisqHodl Hodl vs HavenoHodl Hodl vs MostroHodl Hodl vs Peer

Hodl Hodl: common questions

Does Hodl Hodl require KYC?

Hodl Hodl is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. The FAQ describes trades as taking place without KYC or AML checks; an email address is required to register.

Is Hodl Hodl safe to use?

Hodl Hodl has a Safety grade of 7.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.0 out of 10. There is 1 incident on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Hodl Hodl legit?

Hodl Hodl is a working P2P exchange. It publishes the company that runs it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Hodl Hodl a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. Hodl Hodl has 1 incident on record, 1 not resolved, the latest: "Announced screening of all incoming bitcoin, described as "security scoring"". Each is listed on this page with its source.

Do I need an account or email to use Hodl Hodl?

Email required.

What fees does Hodl Hodl charge?

0.75% per party (up to 1.5% per trade); 0.5% for referred users. Fees were recorded from Hodl Hodl's own pages and can change; check before you send.

What are Hodl Hodl's limits?

Minimum 0.00025 BTC; maximum 1, 2 or 5 BTC per trade by account level.

Does Hodl Hodl have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on Hodl Hodl's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does Hodl Hodl support?

Hodl Hodl supports BTC, and fiat payments in EUR, USD, GBP.

Is Hodl Hodl custodial?

No. Hodl Hodl is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

Can I use Hodl Hodl over Tor?

Hodl Hodl does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.
  • Incident recorded: Announced screening of all incoming bitcoin, described as "security scoring"