Swiss end-to-end encrypted email with a free tier; paid plans payable in Bitcoin or cash
Email Reviewed 22 Oct 2026
ghostBox review
Small one-time-payment mailbox with IMAP, POP3, SMTP and webmail
- Tor onion address
- No-logs policy
- No phone number
- Email required
- Nobody accountable
Privacy
6.9/ 10
Fair
Safety
4.6/ 10
Caution
Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic
ghostBox review in short
ghostBox is an email provider. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.9/10 for privacy (fair) and 4.6/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no phone number, tor onion address and no-logs policy. To watch: it requires an email address and has no publicly accountable operator. No incidents are on record.
- Category
- KYC level
- 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- Grades
- Privacy 6.9/10, Safety 4.6/10
- Sign-up
- Email required
- Fees
- €5 one-time fee for 256 MiB
- Limits
- 256 MiB storage; accounts are created manually on request
- Incidents on record
- 0
- Last reviewed
- 22 Oct 2026
Cite this review
NoKYC Score, "ghostBox review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/ghostbox
Also available as plain text.
What ghostBox is
ghostBox is a small single-operator email provider with IMAP, POP3, SMTP and Roundcube webmail. An account is requested by emailing the postmaster, for which a temporary address is accepted, and costs a one-time €5 fee for 256 MiB of storage. The site says plainly that mail is not end-to-end encrypted: only the server disk is encrypted, and it says no logs are kept. User data is hosted in Switzerland and the operator says it will share data only if forced by a court with jurisdiction over the server. Mail protocols are also reachable over Tor at ghost7whczovqqnabnvzbx24hqnfseyzzdqtzcpkyvbgfmwfgwii6pyd.onion (port 2525 for SMTP). Accepted payment methods were not confirmed during this review.
What ghostBox offers, and what to watch
3 of 14 privacy and safety features, 2 warnings in its terms.
"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.
Identity
- ID never required Not stated
- No account needed No
- No email needed No
- No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.
Payment
- Accepts Monero Not stated
- Accepts Lightning Not stated
- Accepts cash Not stated
Access
- Tor onion address Yes An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.
- Works without JavaScript Not stated
Trust
- Open source Not stated
- No-logs policy Yes States that connection or activity logs are not kept.
- Independent audit Not stated
- Company named No
- 5+ years operating Not stated
Warnings
- May ask for ID Not in terms
- Email required Yes An email address is required to use the service.
- Phone number required Not in terms
- Closed source Not in terms
- Nobody accountable Yes No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.
Does ghostBox require KYC?
- 0 Never
- 1 Not mentioned
- 2 Rare
- 3 On risk flag
- 4 Mandatory
KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.
No identity requirement is stated; the operator says it cannot verify account owners, so lost passwords cannot be recovered.
How the grades add up
Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.
Privacy
6.9- Starting points 50
- KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
- No phone needed +1
- Tor onion service +4
- No-logs policy +2
- Total, clamped to 0–100 69
Safety
4.6- Starting points 50
- Anonymous operator -4
- Total, clamped to 0–100 46
Test ledger
Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.
No test transactions published yet
The grades above rest on ghostBox’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.
Incidents on record
No incidents are on record for ghostBox. If you have a documented case, report it.
User reviews
Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.
No reviews yet.
Write a review
Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.
Alternatives to ghostBox
All alternatives →German encrypted email and calendar with open-source clients and a free tier
Berlin email provider at €1/month that separates payments from accounts; takes cash
Email with an official onion address, PGP storage encryption and anonymous signup
ghostBox vs Proton MailghostBox vs TutaghostBox vs PosteoghostBox vs Onion Mail
ghostBox: common questions
Does ghostBox require KYC?
ghostBox is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity requirement is stated; the operator says it cannot verify account owners, so lost passwords cannot be recovered.
Is ghostBox safe to use?
ghostBox has a Safety grade of 4.6 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.9 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.
Is ghostBox legit?
ghostBox is a working email provider. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.6 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.
Is ghostBox a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for ghostBox.
Do I need an account or email to use ghostBox?
Email required.
What fees does ghostBox charge?
€5 one-time fee for 256 MiB. Fees were recorded from ghostBox's own pages and can change; check before you send.
What are ghostBox's limits?
256 MiB storage; accounts are created manually on request.
Does ghostBox have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on ghostBox's own pages.
Can I use ghostBox over Tor?
ghostBox does not publish an official onion address.
Listing history
- Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.