# ghostBox review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> ghostBox is an email provider. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.9/10 for privacy (fair) and 4.6/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no phone number, tor onion address and no-logs policy. To watch: it requires an email address and has no publicly accountable operator. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "ghostBox review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/ghostbox

## Key facts
- **Category:** Email
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.9/10, Safety 4.6/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Fees:** €5 one-time fee for 256 MiB
- **Limits:** 256 MiB storage; accounts are created manually on request
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://ghostbox.cc

## What it is
ghostBox is a small single-operator email provider with IMAP, POP3, SMTP and Roundcube webmail. An account is requested by emailing the postmaster, for which a temporary address is accepted, and costs a one-time €5 fee for 256 MiB of storage. The site says plainly that mail is not end-to-end encrypted: only the server disk is encrypted, and it says no logs are kept. User data is hosted in Switzerland and the operator says it will share data only if forced by a court with jurisdiction over the server. Mail protocols are also reachable over Tor at ghost7whczovqqnabnvzbx24hqnfseyzzdqtzcpkyvbgfmwfgwii6pyd.onion (port 2525 for SMTP). Accepted payment methods were not confirmed during this review.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity requirement is stated; the operator says it cannot verify account owners, so lost passwords cannot be recovered.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: yes; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: not stated; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: no; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: yes

## Questions
### Does ghostBox require KYC?
ghostBox is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity requirement is stated; the operator says it cannot verify account owners, so lost passwords cannot be recovered.

### Is ghostBox safe to use?
ghostBox has a Safety grade of 4.6 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.9 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is ghostBox legit?
ghostBox is a working email provider. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.6 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is ghostBox a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for ghostBox.

### Do I need an account or email to use ghostBox?
Email required.

### What fees does ghostBox charge?
€5 one-time fee for 256 MiB. Fees were recorded from ghostBox's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are ghostBox's limits?
256 MiB storage; accounts are created manually on request.

### Does ghostBox have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on ghostBox's own pages.

### Can I use ghostBox over Tor?
ghostBox does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://ghostbox.cc/

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
