Skip to content
NoKYC Score

P2P Exchanges Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

Dawnswap review

Independent Haveno network for peer-to-peer Monero trading over Tor

  • No account needed
  • Accepts Monero
  • Tor onion address
  • Never holds your funds
  • Open source
  • Nobody accountable
ID never required KYC 0 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

9.7/ 10

Excellent

Safety

6.6/ 10

Fair

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

Dawnswap review in short

Dawnswap is a P2P exchange. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 9.7/10 for privacy (excellent) and 6.6/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. To watch: it has no publicly accountable operator. No incidents are on record.

Category
P2P Exchanges
KYC level
0 of 4: ID never required
Grades
Privacy 9.7/10, Safety 6.6/10
Sign-up
No account needed
Custody
non-custodial
Fees
Maker 0%, taker 0.4%
Limits
Minimum trade and deposit 0.02 XMR; minimum security deposit 5%
Jurisdiction
Decentralised / none
Onion address
Yes
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "Dawnswap review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/dawnswap

Also available as plain text.

What Dawnswap is

Dawnswap is a Haveno network run by the Dawn collective: open-source desktop software that lets users trade Monero directly with each other for other cryptocurrencies, precious-metal assets and fiat through many payment methods, including cash in person. The software runs on the user's machine, connects over Tor and keeps account data locally. The FAQ says Dawnswap does no KYC and never asks for credentials; only arbitrators request trade information from both parties when a dispute is opened. The network sets a 0% maker and 0.4% taker fee and a 0.02 XMR minimum trade, and the collective is anonymous.

What Dawnswap offers, and what to watch

9 of 16 privacy and safety features, 1 warning in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Yes The terms rule identity checks out, or the design makes them impossible.
  • No account needed Yes Usable without creating an account, or the account is only a random number.
  • No email needed Yes An email address is not required to sign up or use it.
  • No phone number Yes A phone number is never required.

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated
  • Accepts cash Yes Cash by post or in person: no bank and no blockchain record.

Access

  • Tor onion address Yes An official .onion address, reachable only through Tor.
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • Never holds your funds Yes The operator never controls user funds, so it cannot freeze them.
  • Refund without ID Not stated
  • Escrow it cannot spend alone Not stated
  • Open source Yes The code that matters is public and can be inspected.
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named No
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Screens deposits Not in terms
  • Holds your funds Not in terms
  • Email required Not in terms
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Closed source Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Yes No company or person is publicly responsible for the service.

Does Dawnswap require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 0: ID never required. The terms rule out identity checks, or the design makes them impossible.

FAQ: "Does Dawnswap do KYC? No" - it is open-source peer-to-peer software run locally, with no account held by an operator.

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

9.7
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 0: ID never required +20
  • No registration +6
  • No email needed +3
  • No phone needed +1
  • Tor onion service +4
  • Accepts Monero +4
  • Accepts cash +4
  • Open source +2
  • Non-custodial +3
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 97

Safety

6.6
  • Starting points 50
  • Open source +8
  • Non-custodial +12
  • Anonymous operator -4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 66

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on Dawnswap’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for Dawnswap. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to Dawnswap

All alternatives →

Dawnswap vs BisqDawnswap vs HavenoDawnswap vs MostroDawnswap vs Peer

Dawnswap: common questions

Does Dawnswap require KYC?

Dawnswap is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. FAQ: "Does Dawnswap do KYC? No" - it is open-source peer-to-peer software run locally, with no account held by an operator.

Is Dawnswap safe to use?

Dawnswap has a Safety grade of 6.6 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 9.7 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is Dawnswap legit?

Dawnswap is a working P2P exchange. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.6 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is Dawnswap a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Dawnswap.

Do I need an account or email to use Dawnswap?

No account needed.

What fees does Dawnswap charge?

Maker 0%, taker 0.4%. Fees were recorded from Dawnswap's own pages and can change; check before you send.

What are Dawnswap's limits?

Minimum trade and deposit 0.02 XMR; minimum security deposit 5%.

Does Dawnswap have a Tor onion address?

Yes. Dawnswap publishes an official onion address, shown on this page. Open it in Tor Browser.

Which cryptocurrencies does Dawnswap support?

Dawnswap supports XMR, BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, USDT, USDC, DAI.

Is Dawnswap custodial?

No. Dawnswap is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

Can I use Dawnswap over Tor?

Yes. Dawnswap publishes an official onion address, shown on this page.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.