Skip to content
NoKYC Score

Web Hosting Since 2023 Reviewed 22 Oct 2026

BasedFlare review

Managed DDoS protection, CDN, WAF and DNS with open-source components; takes Monero

  • Accepts Monero
  • Company named
  • Email required
No ID mentioned KYC 1 Documentation reviewed

Privacy

6.2/ 10

Fair

Safety

5.5/ 10

Fair

Based on terms and documentation. No test transactions published yet. See the arithmetic

BasedFlare review in short

BasedFlare is a hosting provider operating since 2023. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.2/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: accepts Monero and company named. To watch: it requires an email address. No incidents are on record.

Category
Web Hosting
KYC level
1 of 4: No ID mentioned
Grades
Privacy 6.2/10, Safety 5.5/10
Sign-up
Email required
Fees
Starter plan $20/month, Pro $199/month when checked
Jurisdiction
United States
Incidents on record
0
Last reviewed
22 Oct 2026
Cite this review

NoKYC Score, "BasedFlare review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/basedflare

Also available as plain text.

What BasedFlare is

BasedFlare is a managed DDoS protection, CDN, WAF and DNS service from BASED ON WHAT LLC, a US company with a Wyoming postal address whose stated incorporation date is May 2023. Parts of its backend, including its HAProxy-based protection scripts and control panel, are published as open source. Its privacy policy lists a username, email address, password and IP address as the data collected, and its short terms of service say the service is for legal purposes only and that the operator complies with US government agencies; neither mentions identity verification. Invoices can be paid in XMR, BTC, LTC, ETH and Ethereum-based USDT and USDC through a self-hosted payment gateway.

What BasedFlare offers, and what to watch

2 of 13 privacy and safety features, 1 warning in its terms.

"Not stated" means its own pages do not say.

Identity

  • ID never required Not stated
  • No account needed No
  • No email needed No
  • No phone number Not stated

Payment

  • Accepts Monero Yes Monero hides sender, receiver and amount, so the payment cannot be traced to you.
  • Accepts Lightning Not stated
  • Accepts cash Not stated

Access

  • Tor onion address Not stated
  • Works without JavaScript Not stated

Trust

  • No-logs policy Not stated
  • Independent audit Not stated
  • Company named Yes The operating company and its jurisdiction are published.
  • 5+ years operating Not stated

Warnings

  • May ask for ID Not in terms
  • Email required Yes An email address is required to use the service.
  • Phone number required Not in terms
  • Nobody accountable Not in terms

Does BasedFlare require KYC?

  1. 0
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4

KYC level 1: No ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms or documentation.

The terms of service and privacy policy contain no identity verification requirement; the privacy policy lists username, email address, password and IP address as collected data.

Read the terms we assessed ↗

How the grades add up

Both grades start at 50 points and move by fixed, published amounts. Nothing is adjusted by hand. The total is divided by ten.

Privacy

6.2
  • Starting points 50
  • KYC level 1: No ID mentioned +12
  • Accepts Monero +4
  • Requires email -4
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 62

Safety

5.5
  • Starting points 50
  • Legal entity disclosed +5
  • Total, clamped to 0–100 55

Test ledger

Real transactions run by our editors. A badge without a ledger is an assertion; this is the proof.

No test transactions published yet

The grades above rest on BasedFlare’s terms and documentation. Tests will appear here with the date, route, amount band and result as they are run.

Incidents on record

No incidents are on record for BasedFlare. If you have a documented case, report it.

User reviews

Reviews never change a grade. Reviews with a transaction reference are marked.

No reviews yet.

Write a review

Create an account to write a review. It takes ten seconds and needs no email: you get a random key and a random name. Already have a key? Sign in.

Alternatives to BasedFlare

All alternatives →

BasedFlare vs OrangeWebsiteBasedFlare vs FlokiNETBasedFlare vs 1984 HostingBasedFlare vs Impreza Host

BasedFlare: common questions

Does BasedFlare require KYC?

BasedFlare is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. The terms of service and privacy policy contain no identity verification requirement; the privacy policy lists username, email address, password and IP address as collected data.

Is BasedFlare safe to use?

BasedFlare has a Safety grade of 5.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

Is BasedFlare legit?

BasedFlare is a working hosting provider that has operated since 2023. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

Is BasedFlare a scam?

NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for BasedFlare.

Do I need an account or email to use BasedFlare?

Email required.

What fees does BasedFlare charge?

Starter plan $20/month, Pro $199/month when checked. Fees were recorded from BasedFlare's own pages and can change; check before you send.

Does BasedFlare have a Tor onion address?

No official onion address was found on BasedFlare's own pages.

Which cryptocurrencies does BasedFlare support?

BasedFlare supports XMR, BTC, LTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, and fiat payments in USD.

Can I use BasedFlare over Tor?

BasedFlare does not publish an official onion address.

Listing history

  • Listing added. Facts and KYC level set from the service's own terms and documentation.