# Windscribe review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Windscribe is a VPN operating since 2016. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.8/10 for privacy (fair) and 8.1/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no email needed, open source and no-logs policy. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Windscribe review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/windscribe

## Key facts
- **Category:** VPNs
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.8/10, Safety 8.1/10
- **Sign-up:** Email optional
- **Fees:** Monthly plan $9.00 when checked
- **Jurisdiction:** Canada
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://windscribe.com

## What it is
Windscribe is a VPN service owned by Windscribe Limited, a company registered in Ontario, Canada. It offers a free tier and paid plans, with cryptocurrency listed as a payment method on the upgrade page alongside cards, PayPal and local payment options; the monthly plan was shown at $9.00 when checked. The site says the apps are open source and points to transparency reports and audits as evidence of its privacy practices, and describes RAM-disk server infrastructure that stores no identifying data. Accounts are created with a username and password, with an email address optional.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity documents are requested; accounts use a username and password and crypto payment is offered.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: yes; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: yes; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: yes; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Windscribe require KYC?
Windscribe is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity documents are requested; accounts use a username and password and crypto payment is offered.

### Is Windscribe safe to use?
Windscribe has a Safety grade of 8.1 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.8 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Windscribe legit?
Windscribe is a working VPN that has operated since 2016. It publishes the company that runs it, in Canada. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 8.1 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Windscribe a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Windscribe.

### Do I need an account or email to use Windscribe?
Email optional.

### What fees does Windscribe charge?
Monthly plan $9.00 when checked. Fees were recorded from Windscribe's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does Windscribe have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Windscribe's own pages.

### Can I use Windscribe over Tor?
Windscribe does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://windscribe.com
- https://windscribe.com/upgrade
- https://windscribe.com/terms

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
