# UseBitcoin review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> UseBitcoin is a gift card store. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.3/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: accepts Lightning and company named. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "UseBitcoin review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/usebitcoin

## Key facts
- **Category:** Gift Cards
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.3/10, Safety 5.5/10
- **Fees:** No fee stated; some codes are listed at a discount
- **Limits:** Denominations vary by product, for example ¥1,000-¥100,000 for au PAY
- **Jurisdiction:** Japan
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://usebitcoin.jp

## What it is
UseBitcoin sells Japanese prepaid gift codes, such as au PAY, V-Preca, Kyash, QUO Card Pay and BitCash, priced in Bitcoin and paid by Lightning invoice, with the code shown after payment. The terms are in Japanese, name a Japanese company (株式会社カシェイ) as the operator and are governed by Japanese law. They prohibit use suspected of money laundering and payment with illegally obtained Bitcoin, allow suspension without notice, and exclude refunds and returns. Identity verification and account requirements are not mentioned.

## What the terms say about ID
The terms contain no identity requirement; they prohibit suspected money-laundering use and allow suspension without notice.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: not stated; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: yes; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does UseBitcoin require KYC?
UseBitcoin is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. The terms contain no identity requirement; they prohibit suspected money-laundering use and allow suspension without notice.

### Is UseBitcoin safe to use?
UseBitcoin has a Safety grade of 5.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.3 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is UseBitcoin legit?
UseBitcoin is a working gift card store. It publishes the company that runs it, in Japan. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is UseBitcoin a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for UseBitcoin.

### What fees does UseBitcoin charge?
No fee stated; some codes are listed at a discount. Fees were recorded from UseBitcoin's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are UseBitcoin's limits?
Denominations vary by product, for example ¥1,000-¥100,000 for au PAY.

### Does UseBitcoin have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on UseBitcoin's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does UseBitcoin support?
UseBitcoin supports BTC, and fiat payments in JPY.

### Can I use UseBitcoin over Tor?
UseBitcoin does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://usebitcoin.jp
- https://usebitcoin.jp/terms

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
