# TorGuard review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> TorGuard is a VPN. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 5.8/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.2/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no-logs policy and company named. To watch: it requires an email address and is closed source. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "TorGuard review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/torguard

## Key facts
- **Category:** VPNs
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 5.8/10, Safety 5.2/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Fees:** Subscription plans in USD; crypto and gift-card payments are non-refundable
- **Jurisdiction:** United States
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 23 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://torguard.net

## What it is
TorGuard sells VPN, proxy, email and hosting services. Its privacy page gives the mailing address of VPNetworks LLC in Orlando, Florida, and states a zero-logs policy for the VPN and proxy services. The terms list credit cards and cryptocurrency as accepted payment types, and the refund policy says gift-card and crypto payments are not refundable. Account details, including an email address, must be accurate and kept up to date. The terms also say that verification of information may be required before a purchase is accepted or completed, without saying what that involves.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity documents are named, but the terms say "verification of information may be required prior to the acknowledgment or completion of any purchase or transaction" (not specified further).

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: no; No-logs policy: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: yes; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does TorGuard require KYC?
TorGuard is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity documents are named, but the terms say "verification of information may be required prior to the acknowledgment or completion of any purchase or transaction" (not specified further).

### Is TorGuard safe to use?
TorGuard has a Safety grade of 5.2 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 5.8 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is TorGuard legit?
TorGuard is a working VPN. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.2 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is TorGuard a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for TorGuard.

### Do I need an account or email to use TorGuard?
Email required.

### What fees does TorGuard charge?
Subscription plans in USD; crypto and gift-card payments are non-refundable. Fees were recorded from TorGuard's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does TorGuard have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on TorGuard's own pages.

### Can I use TorGuard over Tor?
TorGuard does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://torguard.net/terms.php
- https://torguard.net/privacy/

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
