# SwapSpace review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> SwapSpace is an aggregator operating since 2019. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 2.7/10 for privacy (poor) and 3.4/10 for safety (poor). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and passes orders to partner exchanges. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "SwapSpace review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/swapspace

## Key facts
- **Category:** Swap Aggregators
- **KYC level:** 3 of 4: ID on risk flag
- **Grades:** Privacy 2.7/10, Safety 3.4/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Fees:** No separate SwapSpace fee per its About page; terms say network, provider and/or service fees may apply and may not be displayed before the exchange. Asset recovery of frozen funds costs 1% (minimum USD 100).
- **Limits:** Set by each partner exchange; not stated by SwapSpace.
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://swapspace.co

## What it is
SwapSpace is an instant swap aggregator that compares fixed and floating offers from independent partner exchanges and lets users start a swap without an account. Its terms describe it as a non-custodial aggregator: the selected partner carries out the exchange and applies its own AML and KYC procedures. The terms also let SwapSpace itself pause or freeze a transaction for up to 180 days when its monitoring flags a deposit, and ask for identity documents, proof of address and proof of source of funds during that review. The footer names SwapSpace LLC, the terms are governed by the laws of Costa Rica, and use is barred from a long list of countries including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Germany and Russia. The live site served a bot challenge during this review, so the terms were read from an archived copy of the official page (last updated 14 August 2025, captured April 2026).

## What the terms say about ID
No account is needed, but Terms s.11.3 say flagged transactions may require "Proof of your identity (like a government-issued ID, passport)", address and source of funds, and s.2.2 requires passing any AML/KYC checks requested; partner exchanges run their own KYC.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: no; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: not stated; Own liquidity: no; Refund without ID: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: yes; Screens deposits: yes; Passes orders to partners: yes; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does SwapSpace require KYC?
SwapSpace is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. No account is needed, but Terms s.11.3 say flagged transactions may require "Proof of your identity (like a government-issued ID, passport)", address and source of funds, and s.2.2 requires passing any AML/KYC checks requested; partner exchanges run their own KYC.

### Is SwapSpace safe to use?
SwapSpace has a Safety grade of 3.4 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 2.7 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is SwapSpace legit?
SwapSpace is a working aggregator that has operated since 2019. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 3.4 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is SwapSpace a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for SwapSpace. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

### Do I need an account or email to use SwapSpace?
No account needed.

### What fees does SwapSpace charge?
No separate SwapSpace fee per its About page; terms say network, provider and/or service fees may apply and may not be displayed before the exchange. Asset recovery of frozen funds costs 1% (minimum USD 100). Fees were recorded from SwapSpace's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are SwapSpace's limits?
Set by each partner exchange; not stated by SwapSpace.

### Does SwapSpace have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on SwapSpace's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does SwapSpace support?
SwapSpace supports BTC, ETH, XMR, USDT, LTC, SOL, TRX, DOGE.

### Is SwapSpace custodial?
No. SwapSpace is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

### Can I use SwapSpace over Tor?
SwapSpace does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://swapspace.co
- https://swapspace.co/terms
- https://web.archive.org/web/20260407125902/https://swapspace.co/terms
- https://web.archive.org/web/20260407125937/https://swapspace.co/privacy-policy
- https://web.archive.org/web/20260407125857/https://swapspace.co/about

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
