# Sparrow Wallet review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Sparrow Wallet is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 8.5/10 for privacy (excellent) and 7.0/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Sparrow Wallet review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/sparrow-wallet

## Key facts
- **Category:** Wallets
- **KYC level:** 0 of 4: ID never required
- **Grades:** Privacy 8.5/10, Safety 7.0/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Jurisdiction:** Decentralised / none
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://sparrowwallet.com

## What it is
Sparrow is an open-source desktop Bitcoin wallet aimed at users who want to see and control exactly what their transactions do. The site lists support for connecting to Bitcoin Core and private Electrum servers, full PSBT support, all common hardware wallets in USB and air-gapped modes, comprehensive coin and fee control, labelling of transactions and outputs, PayNym payments and built-in Tor. It also includes a transaction editor that doubles as a block explorer. The wallet is self-custodial software with no accounts and no operator-side service, so no identity information is collected.

## What the terms say about ID
Self-custodial desktop software with no accounts; there is no service that could collect identity.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: yes; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Open source: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Sparrow Wallet require KYC?
Sparrow Wallet is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. Self-custodial desktop software with no accounts; there is no service that could collect identity.

### Is Sparrow Wallet safe to use?
Sparrow Wallet has a Safety grade of 7.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 8.5 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Sparrow Wallet legit?
Sparrow Wallet is a working wallet. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Sparrow Wallet a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Sparrow Wallet.

### Do I need an account or email to use Sparrow Wallet?
No account needed.

### Does Sparrow Wallet have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Sparrow Wallet's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Sparrow Wallet support?
Sparrow Wallet supports BTC.

### Can I use Sparrow Wallet over Tor?
Sparrow Wallet does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://sparrowwallet.com
- https://github.com/sparrowwallet/sparrow

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
