# RetoSwap review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> RetoSwap is a P2P exchange operating since 2024. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 8.9/10 for privacy (excellent) and 2.7/10 for safety (poor). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. To watch: it has no publicly accountable operator. 2 incidents are on record, the latest from 17 Jun 2026.

Source: NoKYC Score, "RetoSwap review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/retoswap

## Key facts
- **Category:** P2P Exchanges
- **KYC level:** 0 of 4: ID never required
- **Grades:** Privacy 8.9/10, Safety 2.7/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Fees:** 0.1% maker; 0.8% crypto taker; 2% fiat taker
- **Jurisdiction:** Decentralised / none
- **Incidents on record:** 2
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://retoswap.com

## What it is
RetoSwap, formerly Haveno-Reto, is the largest live network built on the Haveno protocol for peer-to-peer Monero trading. Its site describes it as open-source software without the ability to verify user identities and lists fees of 0.1% for makers, 0.8% for crypto takers and 2% for fiat takers. In May 2026 an exploit of the Haveno trade protocol drained about 7,000 XMR from traders, and in June 2026 the network suspended trading after a second exploit was reported. New client releases followed in June and October 2026, and the site showed no suspension notice when checked in October 2026.

## What the terms say about ID
The site states RetoSwap "is merely open source software, without the ability to verify user identities".

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: yes; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: yes
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Refund without ID: not stated; Escrow it cannot spend alone: not stated; Open source: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: no; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: yes

## Incidents on record
- 17 Jun 2026: Reported second protocol-level exploit; all trading suspended (outcome: unknown). Source: https://www.coingabbar.com/en/crypto-currency-news/retoswap-suspends-trading-haveno-protocol-exploit-again
- 20 May 2026: Reported exploit of the Haveno trade protocol drained about 7,000 XMR from traders (outcome: funds lost). Source: https://www.cryptotimes.io/2026/05/21/monero-dex-retoswap-suspends-trading-after-2-7m-exploit-in-haveno-protocol/

## Questions
### Does RetoSwap require KYC?
RetoSwap is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. The site states RetoSwap "is merely open source software, without the ability to verify user identities".

### Is RetoSwap safe to use?
RetoSwap has a Safety grade of 2.7 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 8.9 out of 10. There are 2 incidents on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is RetoSwap legit?
RetoSwap is a working P2P exchange that has operated since 2024. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 2.7 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is RetoSwap a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. RetoSwap has 2 incidents on record, 2 not resolved, the latest: "Reported second protocol-level exploit; all trading suspended". Each is listed on this page with its source.

### Do I need an account or email to use RetoSwap?
No account needed.

### What fees does RetoSwap charge?
0.1% maker; 0.8% crypto taker; 2% fiat taker. Fees were recorded from RetoSwap's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does RetoSwap have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on RetoSwap's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does RetoSwap support?
RetoSwap supports XMR, BTC, ETH, USDT, and fiat payments in EUR, USD.

### Is RetoSwap custodial?
No. RetoSwap is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

### Can I use RetoSwap over Tor?
RetoSwap does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://retoswap.com
- https://github.com/retoaccess1/haveno-reto/releases/
- https://www.coingabbar.com/en/crypto-currency-news/retoswap-suspends-trading-haveno-protocol-exploit-again

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
