# Pocket Bitcoin review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Pocket Bitcoin is an exchange operating since 2020. Its terms put it at KYC level 4 of 4: ID mandatory. NoKYC Score grades it 0.4/10 for privacy (poor) and 4.3/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: company named and 5+ years operating. To watch: it may ask for ID, passes orders to partner exchanges and requires an email address. 2 incidents are on record, the latest from 21 Aug 2026.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Pocket Bitcoin review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/pocket-bitcoin

## Key facts
- **Category:** No-KYC Exchanges
- **KYC level:** 4 of 4: ID mandatory
- **Grades:** Privacy 0.4/10, Safety 4.3/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Fees:** 1.5% service fee plus a shared bitcoin network fee per payout
- **Limits:** No tier without identity verification since 8 December 2025 (previously CHF/EUR 999 per month). A separate service handles amounts of CHF 100,000 and more.
- **Jurisdiction:** Switzerland
- **Incidents on record:** 2
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://pocketbitcoin.com

## What it is
Pocket, run by Pocket App AG in Switzerland, converts incoming bank transfers in CHF or EUR into bitcoin and sends it to the customer's own wallet; its terms describe the service as fully non-custodial. It formerly allowed purchases up to CHF 999 per month without an identity document. In October 2025 it announced that all unverified users had to complete full KYC by 8 December 2025 and that only verified users can buy and sell after that date. Its FAQ now lists an uncompleted identity verification as a reason for a payment being refunded. Purchases are executed on a partner exchange and the fee is 1.5%.

## What the terms say about ID
Operator announcement of 16 October 2025: 'After December 8th, 2025 only verified users will be able to continue buying and selling bitcoin through Pocket.'

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: no; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: not stated; Own liquidity: no; Refund without ID: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: yes; Screens deposits: not in terms; Passes orders to partners: yes; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Incidents on record
- 21 Aug 2026: Support-system backup exposed, including ID copies of 291 customers (outcome: resolved). Source: https://pocketbitcoin.com/blog/posts/security-incident-update
- 8 Dec 2025: Identity verification made mandatory for all users (outcome: unknown). Source: https://pocketbitcoin.com/blog/posts/full-verification-coming-to-pocket

## Questions
### Does Pocket Bitcoin require KYC?
Pocket Bitcoin is rated KYC level 4 of 4 on this site: ID mandatory. Operator announcement of 16 October 2025: 'After December 8th, 2025 only verified users will be able to continue buying and selling bitcoin through Pocket.'

### Is Pocket Bitcoin safe to use?
Pocket Bitcoin has a Safety grade of 4.3 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 0.4 out of 10. There are 2 incidents on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Pocket Bitcoin legit?
Pocket Bitcoin is a working exchange that has operated since 2020. It publishes the company that runs it, in Switzerland. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.3 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Pocket Bitcoin a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. Pocket Bitcoin has 2 incidents on record, 1 not resolved, the latest: "Support-system backup exposed, including ID copies of 291 customers". Each is listed on this page with its source. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

### Do I need an account or email to use Pocket Bitcoin?
Email required.

### What fees does Pocket Bitcoin charge?
1.5% service fee plus a shared bitcoin network fee per payout. Fees were recorded from Pocket Bitcoin's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are Pocket Bitcoin's limits?
No tier without identity verification since 8 December 2025 (previously CHF/EUR 999 per month). A separate service handles amounts of CHF 100,000 and more.

### Does Pocket Bitcoin have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Pocket Bitcoin's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Pocket Bitcoin support?
Pocket Bitcoin supports BTC, and fiat payments in CHF, EUR.

### Is Pocket Bitcoin custodial?
No. Pocket Bitcoin is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

### Can I use Pocket Bitcoin over Tor?
Pocket Bitcoin does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://pocketbitcoin.com
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/faq
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/faq/how-do-I-buy-larger-bitcoin-amounts
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/faq/why-has-my-payment-been-refunded
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/faq/are-there-fees-with-pocket
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/about
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/legal/terms-of-service
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/blog/posts/full-verification-coming-to-pocket
- https://pocketbitcoin.com/blog/posts/security-incident-update

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
