# Nunchuk review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Nunchuk is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 0 of 4: ID never required. NoKYC Score grades it 7.5/10 for privacy (strong) and 7.0/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: never holds your funds and open source. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Nunchuk review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/nunchuk

## Key facts
- **Category:** Wallets
- **KYC level:** 0 of 4: ID never required
- **Grades:** Privacy 7.5/10, Safety 7.0/10
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Fees:** Free plan; assisted plans listed at 120, 480 and $2,100 per year
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://nunchuk.io

## What it is
Nunchuk is a Bitcoin wallet for mobile and desktop focused on multisig, made by Nunchuk Inc. A free plan covers self-managed single-signature and multisig wallets; paid plans add assisted wallets in which Nunchuk holds a platform key that co-signs, cloud backups and inheritance planning. The FAQ says Nunchuk never has enough keys to move funds on its own, that its plans are "unconditionally Non-KYC", and that it collects no personal information beyond email addresses. Whether the app can be used without an email address was not confirmed during this review. No built-in buy or swap feature is described. The apps are published under the GPL-3.0 licence.

## What the terms say about ID
FAQ describes the plans as "unconditionally Non-KYC" and says Nunchuk "does not collect any personal information beyond email addresses".

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: yes; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: not stated; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Open source: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Nunchuk require KYC?
Nunchuk is rated KYC level 0 of 4 on this site: ID never required. FAQ describes the plans as "unconditionally Non-KYC" and says Nunchuk "does not collect any personal information beyond email addresses".

### Is Nunchuk safe to use?
Nunchuk has a Safety grade of 7.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.5 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Nunchuk legit?
Nunchuk is a working wallet. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Nunchuk a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Nunchuk.

### What fees does Nunchuk charge?
Free plan; assisted plans listed at 120, 480 and $2,100 per year. Fees were recorded from Nunchuk's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does Nunchuk have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Nunchuk's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Nunchuk support?
Nunchuk supports BTC.

### Can I use Nunchuk over Tor?
Nunchuk does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://nunchuk.io
- https://nunchuk.io/individuals
- https://nunchuk.io/faq
- https://github.com/nunchuk-io/nunchuk-android

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
