# Kyun review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Kyun is a VPS provider. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 7.9/10 for privacy (strong) and 4.5/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. To watch: it has no publicly accountable operator. One incident is on record, the latest from 23 Apr 2026.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Kyun review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/kyun

## Key facts
- **Category:** VPS
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 7.9/10, Safety 4.5/10
- **Sign-up:** Random account number
- **Fees:** Priced per resource when checked: €0.50 per vCPU core, €1 per GiB RAM, €1 per IPv4 address and €6 per TB of disk each month; Monero deposits get a 10% balance bonus (per its card-payments announcement)
- **Limits:** Card transactions have a 5 EUR minimum; the difference is credited to the balance
- **Onion address:** Yes
- **Incidents on record:** 1
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://kyun.sh

## What it is
Kyun is a small hosting provider selling KVM virtual machines, on-demand Linux containers and object storage in the Netherlands, the United States and Romania. Its main domain moved from kyun.host to kyun.sh in January 2026, and the old domain redirects. Accounts use a random account code and a password, similar to a VPN account number, and the official API creates an account with only a password and a proof-of-work answer, so no email or phone is needed; contact details are optional. Payment is by Monero deposit to an account balance, or by card through Stripe for those who link one. The privacy policy lists what is stored: a hashed password, any contact details you add, service configuration and IP history, and transaction records. It says customer information is not disclosed unless required by law or approved by the customer, and the operator publishes a signed warrant canary. No ID requirement appears in the terms, privacy policy, acceptable use policy or FAQ. No company name or address is published. The site needs JavaScript, and its docs live in a public repository on the operator's own Git server.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms of service, privacy policy, acceptable use policy, Before You Buy page or FAQ. Account creation needs only a password and a proof-of-work answer; the account login is a random code. Card payments go through Stripe and are optional. The Before You Buy page says Kyun cooperates with valid court orders, limited to the data it stores.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: yes; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** No-logs policy: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: no; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: yes

## Incidents on record
- 23 Apr 2026: Outages in April and July 2026; the July outage attributed to a DDoS attack (outcome: resolved). Source: https://kycnot.me/service/kyun

## Questions
### Does Kyun require KYC?
Kyun is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity requirement appears anywhere in the terms of service, privacy policy, acceptable use policy, Before You Buy page or FAQ. Account creation needs only a password and a proof-of-work answer; the account login is a random code. Card payments go through Stripe and are optional. The Before You Buy page says Kyun cooperates with valid court orders, limited to the data it stores.

### Is Kyun safe to use?
Kyun has a Safety grade of 4.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.9 out of 10. There is 1 incident on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Kyun legit?
Kyun is a working VPS provider. Its operators do not publish a company or names, so nobody is publicly accountable for it. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Kyun a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. Kyun has 1 incident on record, all resolved, the latest: "Outages in April and July 2026; the July outage attributed to a DDoS attack". Each is listed on this page with its source.

### Do I need an account or email to use Kyun?
Random account number.

### What fees does Kyun charge?
Priced per resource when checked: €0.50 per vCPU core, €1 per GiB RAM, €1 per IPv4 address and €6 per TB of disk each month; Monero deposits get a 10% balance bonus (per its card-payments announcement). Fees were recorded from Kyun's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are Kyun's limits?
Card transactions have a 5 EUR minimum; the difference is credited to the balance.

### Does Kyun have a Tor onion address?
Yes. Kyun publishes an official onion address, shown on this page. Open it in Tor Browser.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Kyun support?
Kyun supports XMR, and fiat payments in EUR.

### Can I use Kyun over Tor?
Yes. Kyun publishes an official onion address, shown on this page.

## Sources
- https://kyun.sh/
- https://kyun.host/llms.txt
- https://api.kyun.sh/endpoints/v2/json
- https://api.kyun.sh/v2/etc/registration
- https://api.kyun.sh/v2/datacenters
- https://api.kyun.sh/v2/datacenters/ro/unitPrices
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/14/repository/files/tos%7CTerms%20of%20Service.md/raw?ref=master
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/14/repository/files/privacypolicy%7CPrivacy%20Policy.md/raw?ref=master
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/14/repository/files/aup%7CAcceptable%20Use%20Policy.md/raw?ref=master
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/14/repository/files/beforeyoubuy%7CBefore%20You%20Buy.md/raw?ref=master
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/14/repository/files/faqs%7CFAQs%2Fgeneral%7CGeneral%20FAQ.md/raw?ref=master
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/15/repository/files/account-hashes.md/raw?ref=master
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/15/repository/files/card-payments.md/raw?ref=master
- https://git.kyun.sh/api/v4/projects/15/repository/files/kyun-sh.md/raw?ref=master
- https://files.kyun.sh/canary.txt

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
